The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction


EG-ICE 2023 Conference Papers

Papers submitted to the EG-ICE conference presents new approaches, methodologies, and findings relating to computing in engineering, and other application areas listed on this page.


Conference papers

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12
Section 13
Section 14
Section 15
Section 16
Section 17

Conference topics

Life-Cycle Support

  • Computer-enhanced engineering design 
  • Building/City performance analysis 
  • Geometric and parametric modelling 
  • Visualization and simulations 
  • Design and decision support systems 

Advanced computing in engineering 

  • Strategic aspects – opportunities and risks 
  • Computational design 
  • Data-driven design and engineering   
  • AI/Machine learning 
  • Computer vision 
  • Virtual, augmented, and mixed reality 
  • Quantum computing 
  • Robust optimization 

Automation and robotics

  • Human-robot collaboration 
  • Advanced construction methods 
  • Proactive runtime safety, health, and well-being 
  • Breakthrough technologies 

BIM and engineering ontologies 

  • Building/Civil/City information modelling 
  • Semantic modelling in AECO industry   
  • Ontology modelling and reasoning 
  • Spatial reasoning 
  • Graph algorithms 
  • Code compliance checking 

Monitoring and control algorithms in engineering 

  • Sensor data interpretation 
  • Progress monitoring and management 
  • Building control systems 
  • Active structures 

Computer-supported construction management 

  • Collaboration informatics 
  • Scheduling 
  • Discrete-event simulations 
  • Process modelling 

Engineering optimization and search 

  • Design space exploration 
  • Stochastic search 
  • Generative design 

Enhancing sustainability and resilience 

  • High performance and smart building/city simulation and analysis 
  • Sustainable building/civil infrastructure/city 
  • Life cycle assessment and cost 
  • Intelligent building/civil infrastructure/city systems 
  • Information and communication technologies in facilities management 
  • Infrastructure life-cycle management 

Key dates

  • Abstract Submission: Dec 15, 2022
  • Abstract Acceptance: Jan 15, 2023
  • Full Paper Submission: Apr 10, 2023
  • Paper Acceptance: May 10, 2023
  • Final Paper Submission: May 30, 2023
  • Early Registration: May 20, 2023
  • Last day to pay registration for papers to be included in the proceedings: Jun 15, 2023
  • Conference Dates: July 4-7, 2023 

Information for authors

Authors are invited to submit extended abstracts in PDF format through the EasyChair online submission system. The deadline to submit extended abstracts is December 15, 2022. Please make sure you use the author template (*.docx).

Journal Special Issues

A selection of the best conference papers will be invited to extend their work and submit it to a special issue of the journal Advanced Engineering Informatics.


Committee members

Conference Chairs

Prof. Tim Broyd, Professor of Built Environment Foresight, UCL
Prof. Haijiang Li, Chair in BIM for Smart Engineering, Cardiff University
Dr. Qiuchen Lu, Associate Professor, UCL

Scientific Committee

Ali Ghelmani, Concordia University
Ali Tohidifar, University of Toronto
Aliakbar Kamari, Aarhus University
Amin Hammad, Concordia University
Amir Abbas Ziaee, Technische Universität Wien
Angan Mitra, Aarhus University
Aparna Harichandran, Aarhus University
Bernd Domer, University of Applied Sciences and Arts Western Switzerland
Christian Koch, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Christopher Rausch, University of Waterloo
Christos Chronopoulos, Aarhus Univeristy
David Bucher, ETH Zurich Eduardo
Toledo Santos, University of Sao Paulo
Elvin Vindel, Carnegie Mellon University
Emil Lybaek Jacobsen, Aarhus University
Eyosias Guyo, Trimble
Farrokh Jazizadeh, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Frédéric Bosché, University of Edinburgh
Georg Suter, Technische Universität
Wien Ghang Lee, Yonsei University
Haijiang Li, Cardiff University
Han Liu, Tsinghua University
Hubo Cai, Purdue University
Ian F.C. Smith, Technische Universität München
Ian Flood, University of Florida
Ioannis Brilakis, University of Cambridge
Iva Kovacic, Technische Universität Wien
Ivan Mutis, Illinois Institute of Technology
Jakob Kirchner, Technische Universität Berlin
Jan Martens, RWTH Aachen
Jimmy Abualdenien, Technical University of Munich
Jinding Xing, Carnegie Mellon University
Jonas Schlenger, Technische Universität München
Jyrki Oraskari, RWTH Aachen
Karsten W. Johansen, Aarhus University
Kay Smarsly, Technische Universität Hamburg
Ke Chen, Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Li Shengtao, Tsinghua University
M.R. Mahendrini Fernando Ariyachandra, Kingston University
Mathias Artus, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Mathias Worm, Technische Universität Hamburg
Mehmet Bermek, Georgia Institute of Technology
Mehrzad Shahinmoghadam, École de Technologie Supérieure du Québec
Patrick Hsieh, National Taiwan University
Peter Hoegh Mikkelsen, Aarhus University
Philipp Geyer, Leibniz Universität Hannover
Pieter de Wilde, University of Strathclyde
Pieter Pauwels, Eindhoven University of Technology
Pingbo Tang, Carnegie Mellon University
Rafael Sacks, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Rehan Khan, DigitalTwin Technology GmbH
Robert Amor, University of Auckland
Sebastian Esser, Technische Universität München
Shang-Hsien Hsieh, National Taiwan University
Shuning Wei, Tsinghua University
Timo Hartmann, Technische Universität Berlin
Timson Yeung, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Tomas Kulik, Aarhus University
Volker Rodehorst, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar
Walid Tizani, University of Nottingham
Xia Chen, Technische Universität Berlin
Xiaofeng Zhu, Cardiff University
Yan Gao, Cardiff University
Yi Wie, Stevens Institute of Technology
Yingying Zhang, RWTH Aachen
Yohann Schatz, Haute École du Paysage, D'ingénierie et D'architecture de Genève
Žiga Turk, University of Ljubljana

Local Organising Committee

Prof. Tim Broyd, Professor of Built Environment Foresight, UCL
Prof. Haijiang Li, Chair in BIM for Smart Engineering, Cardiff University
Dr. Qiuchen Lu, Associate Professor, UCL
Guoqian Ren, Tongji University
Jiayi Yan, The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction UCL
Yi An, Cardiff University
Long Chen, Loughborough University

Professional Services Team

Helen Pascoe, School Manager - The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction
Chizoba Onyiuke, Communications Manager - The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction
Van Anh Dang, Marketing, Communications, and Events Officer - The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction
Dorcas Sebiotimo, Marketing, Communications, and Events Officer - The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction

All articles are distributed under the terms and conditions of the Creative Commons Attribution (CC BY) license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/).