XClose

Department of Political Science

Home
Menu

Academic, Teaching, and Research Staff

Our Academic, Teaching and Research staff at the Department of Political Science.
Jennifer

Professor Jennifer Hudson

Head of Department & Professor of Political Behaviour

Professor Hudson's research investigates the role of public knowledge, attitudes and opinions on policy outcomes and institutional arrangements.

Room: 1.04, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4781 (x24781)
Email: jennifer.hudson@ucl.ac.uk

rod

Dr M. Rodwan Abouharb

Associate Professor in International Relations

Dr. Rod Abouharb's research examines processes that affect the civility of relations between government and its citizens. 

Room: 2.01, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4922 (x24922)
Email: m.abouharb@ucl.ac.uk

Kristin

Professor Kristin M. Bakke

Professor of Political Science & International Relations

Focusing on political violence, Professor Bakke’s research explores post-war state-building and wartime governance, states’ responses to opposition movements within their borders, the dynamics of violence in self-determination struggles, and geopolitical attitudes. 

Room: 2.08, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 0207 679 4970
Email: kmbakke@ucl.ac.uk

Lucy

Dr Lucy Barnes

Associate Professor in Comparative Politics 

Lucy’s research focuses on the politics of taxation in advanced industrial democracies, at the intersection of comparative politics, political economy and political behaviour. 

Room: 3.01, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9305 (x59305)
Email: l.barnes@ucl.ac.uk

Richard

Professor Richard Bellamy

Professor of Political Science

Richard’s main research interests are in the History of European Social and Political Theory post-1750 and Contemporary Analytical Legal and Political Philosophy. 

Email: r.bellamy@ucl.ac.uk

David

Professor David Coen

Professor of Public Policy

His research seeks to understand Business-Government Relations, Interest Group Mobilisation in the EU, Multilevel Venue Shopping, Regulatory Networks, and Economic Global Governance.

Room: 1.03, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 7679 4967 (x24967)
Email: d.coen@ucl.ac.uk

Marc

Dr Marc Esteve

Associate Professor in International Public Management and Co-Director of the Executive MPA

Dr Esteve’s primary research interests have focused on understanding how individual characteristics influence decision making, specifically in interorganizational collaborations. 

Room: 3.02, 31 Tavistock Sq.
Email: marc.esteve@ucl.ac.uk

Thomas

Dr Thomas Gift

Lecturer in Political Science: Public Policy Economics and Analysis

An expert in comparative politics and political economy, Dr Gift has written on topics including democracy, trade, voting behavior, and American politics broadly.

Room: G.04, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9274(x59274)
Email: t.gift@ucl.ac.uk

Adam

Dr Adam Harris

Lecturer in Development Politics

His research interests focus on development, ethnic, and African politics. His research has been published in International Organization, the Journal of Conflict Resolution, and Political Research Quarterly.

Room: 3.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 7612 6927 (x06927)
Email: adam.s.harris@ucl.ac.uk

Alex

Dr Alexandra Hartman

Lecturer in Qualitative Research Methods 

Alex studies the social origins of violence and how individuals, communities and states construct order. 

Room: 2.02, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 7679 4949 (x24949)
Email: alexandra.hartman@ucl.ac.uk

Robert

Professor Robert Hazell

Professor of Government and the Constitution 

Robert's research interests cover the whole of the constitutional reform agenda. 

Room: 3.04, 31 Tavistock Square
Telephone: 0207 679 9349 (Internal: 29349)
Email: r.hazell@ucl.ac.uk

Tim

Dr Tim Hicks

Associate Professor in Public Policy

Tim is currently conducting research on three topics - all of which are focused on "developed democracies":

Room: 3.01, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9582 (x59582)
Email: t.hicks@ucl.ac.uk

jeff

Dr Jeffrey Howard

Associate Professor in Political Theory

Jeffrey Howard writes and teaches about a variety of topics in contemporary political and legal philosophy, especially concerning crime and punishment, freedom of expression, and counter-terrorism. 

Room: 1.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 5423 (x55423)
Email: jeffrey.howard@ucl.ac.uk

Roland

Dr Roland Kappe

Lecturer in Political Economy

His research interests include comparative political economy, political psychology and political methodology, as well as education and welfare politics.

Room: 2.01, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4725 (x24725)
Email: r.kappe@ucl.ac.uk

Emily

Dr Emily McTernan

Associate Professor in Political Theory and MA LPT Programme Director 

Emily researches the four issues of luck, facts, virtues and social norms, and the ideal of social equality. 

Room: 4.02, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9282 (x59282)
Email: e.mcternan@ucl.ac.uk

Saladin

Dr Saladin Meckled-Garcia

Director of the UCL Institute for Human Rights and Associate Professor in Human Rights and Political Theory

His research focuses on the ethical foundations of human rights, and on theories of international justice.

Room: 2.03, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4947 (x24947)
Email: s.meckled-garcia@ucl.ac.uk

Nils

Dr Nils Metternich

Associate Professor in International Relations

Nils W. Metternich's research focuses on the strategic nature of international and civil conflicts and the prediction of their dynamics. 

Room: 2.02, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4974 (x24974)
Email: n.metternich@ucl.ac.uk

Neil

Professor Neil Mitchell

Professor of International Relations

Neil works on delegation, accountability and the role of non-state actors in conflict and repression. 

Room: 3.02, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4726 (x24726)
Email: n.mitchell@ucl.ac.uk

Jon

Dr Jonathan Monten

Lecturer in Political Science

His research and teaching interests are in the areas of international relations, international security, and U.S. foreign policy. 

Room: G.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9296 (x59296)
Email: j.monten@ucl.ac.uk

Tom

Dr Tom O'Grady

Lecturer in Quantitative Political Science 

Tom’s research focuses on political economy, political behaviour and political parties in the UK and Europe. 

Room: B.13, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 7679 8660 (x28660)
Email: t.o'grady@ucl.ac.uk 

Avia

Dr Avia Pasternak

Associate Professor in Global Ethics

Avia works in the area of political theory and global justice. Her primary research interest is collective agency and collective responsibility. 

Room: 3.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9301 (x59301)
Email: avia.pasternak@ucl.ac.uk

Tom

Dr Tom Pegram

Deputy Director of the Global Governance Institute and Associate Professor in Global Governance 

Tom's research focuses on global/transnational governance, regulatory politics and international organizations, with a emphasis on human rights, international standards, and national human rights institutions (NHRIs).

Room: 4.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9291 (x59291)
Email: t.pegram@ucl.ac.uk

Michael

Dr Michael Plouffe

Lecturer in International Political Economy

Michael's research explores a variety of topics, with a particular focus on business-government relations, firm heterogeneity, foreign economic policy, and political and economic networks.

Room: G.04, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9273 (x59273)
Email: michael.plouffe@ucl.ac.uk

Lauge

Dr Lauge Poulsen

Associate Professor in International Political Economy

Lauge's research focuses on economic diplomacy with a particular emphasis on foreign investment, dispute settlement, and international economic law.

Room: G.02, 31 Tavistock Sq
Tel: 020 3108 9297 (x59297)
Email: l.poulsen@ucl.ac.uk

Colin

Dr Colin Provost

Associate Professor in Public Policy

Much of Colin’s research has focused on regulation through litigation in the American states, specifically on the role of state attorneys general in enforcing state and federal laws in consumer protection, competition (antitrust) and finance.  

Room: 3.06, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4903 (x24903)
Email: c.provost@ucl.ac.uk

Claudio

Professor Claudio Radaelli

Professor of Public Policy

An expert on the European Union and comparative public policy, Professor Radaelli’s fields of specialization include the theory of policy learning, regulatory reforms, and the European Union’s influence on domestic politics and public policy (Europeanization). 

Room: 3.03, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Email: c.radaelli@ucl.ac.uk

Alan

Dr Alan Renwick

Deputy Director of the Constitution Unit and Associate Professor in British Politics

Alan Renwick's research focuses on the mechanisms through which citizens can engage in formal democratic politics and policy-making, particularly elections, referendums, and citizens' assemblies.

Room: 3.15, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 0207 679 4987 (x24987)
Email: a.renwick@ucl.ac.uk

Meg

Professor Meg Russell

Professor of British and Comparative Politics and Director of the Constitution Unit

Meg is responsible for most of the Unit's research on parliament, and is known as one of the primary academic experts on the British parliament. 

Location: 2.03, 31 Tavistock Square
Tel: 020 3108 6967 (Internal: 56967)
Email: meg.russell@ucl.ac.uk

Christian

Dr Christian Schuster

Associate Professor in Public Management

Dr. Schuster’s research focuses on how governments manage public servants and how they can do so more effectively. His research is based on data from original surveys, elite interviews and field experiments with public servants.

Room: 1.02, 31 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 3108 5424 (x55424)
Email: c.schuster@ucl.ac.uk

Mike

Dr Mike Seiferling

Lecturer in Public Finance

Research interests include public finance and budgeting, taxation, public sector accounting, income inequality, balance sheet analysis, intersectoral linkages, fiscal transparency, digital currencies/alternative finance, digital democracy, and quantitative methods. 

Room: 3.01, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 0207 679 4991 (x24991)
Email: m.seiferling@ucl.ac.uk

Katerina

Dr Katerina Tertytchnaya

Lecturer in Comparative Politics (UG)

Katerina’s research interests include political behaviour, comparative political economy, protests and authoritarian politics. Her current book project draws on evidence from Putin’s Russia, to examine how non-democratic incumbents manage public opinion and deflect blame when performance is poor. 

Room: B.17 29/30 Tavistock Square
Email: k.tertytchnaya@ucl.ac.uk

lisa

Dr Lisa Vanhala

Professor in Human Rights

Lisa's research looks at the relationship between NGOs, law and social change. She is currently working on three projects. One attempts to solve the puzzle of why some environmental NGOs have chosen to be active participants before the courts while others have completely eschewed the use of legal strategies in pursuit of their policy goals.

Room: 3.02, 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4984 (x24984)
Email: l.vanhala@ucl.ac.uk

Manuel

Dr Manuel Vogt

Associate Professor in International Security 

Manuel's esearch and teaching interests stand at the intersection of international relations and comparative politics, with a particular focus on contentious politics in developing countries. 

Room: 3.01 29/30 Tavistock Sq.
Tel: 020 7679 4985 (x24985)
Email: m.vogt@ucl.ac.uk

Placeholder

Dr Simon Chin-Yee

Teaching Fellow in Global Environmental Politics & International Public Policy 

Room: 3.07, 29-30 Tavistock Sq.
Email: s.chin-yee@ucl.ac.uk

outi

Dr Outi Donovan

Senior Teaching Fellow in International Political Economy / International Relations 

Room: 3.03, 31 Tavistock Sq. 
Tel: 020 3108 5423 (x55423)
Email: outi.keranen@ucl.ac.uk

Cathy

Dr Cathy Elliott

Senior Teaching Fellow in Qualitative Methods and International Development & Graduate Tutor

Room: 3.08, 29/30 Tavistock Sq. 
Tel: 020 7679 4990 (x24990)
Email: cathy.elliott@ucl.ac.uk

Melanie

Dr Melanie Garson

Senior Teaching Fellow in Conflict Resolution and International Security

Room: 3.03, 31 Tavistock Sq. 
Tel: 020 3108 5424 (x55424)
Email: m.garson@ucl.ac.uk

Anna Killick

Dr Anna Killick

Research Fellow

Room: B12, 29/30 Tavistock Sq
Email: a.killick@ucl.ac.uk

REBECCA

Dr Rebecca McKee

Research Fellow. British Academy Postdoctoral Fellowship (BA PDF)

The research will look at diversity in parliament answering questions such as how does representation work in different forums and who works for MPs, something that is important for understanding diversity as well as the capacity of parliament. 

Room: 2.01, 31 Tavistock Square
Tel: 020 3108 9279 (Internal: 59279)
Email: r.mckee@ucl.ac.uk