XClose

UCL English

Home
Menu

Academic Staff

Bas Aarts 
Professor of English Linguistics;  Director of the Survey of English Usage
 
Email: b.aarts@ucl.ac.uk
Phone: 020 7679 3130
Internal phone: 33130
Kathryn Allan
Associate Professor in the History of English; English Linguistics
Email: kathryn.allan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7653
Internal phone: 37653
 
Juliette Atkinson
Associate Professor of English; nineteenth-century literature. 
(Graduate Tutor) 
Email: juliette.atkinson@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3146
Internal phone: 33146
 
Scarlett Baron
Associate Professor in English; twentieth-century literature
Email: scarlett.baron@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7728 
Internal phone: 37728
 
Matthew Beaumont 
Professor of English; nineteenth and early twentieth-century literature
 
Email: m.beaumont@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 2567
Internal phone: 32567
Sarah Burdett
Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in English Literature
Email: uclesbu@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 76793145
Internal Phone: 33145

 
Stella Bruzzi
Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities
 
Email: s.bruzzi@ucl.ac.uk
 
Lara Choksey
Lecturer in Colonial and Postcolonial Literatures in English after 1800
 
Email: l.choksey@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7728
Internal phone: 37728
Marilyn Corrie
Lecturer in English Medieval literature; manuscripts and vernacular culture
 
Email: m.corrie@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3131
Internal phone: 33131
Gregory Dart 
Professor of English; Romantic Period Literature; Hazlitt, Lamb, the nineteenth-century city, the essay form, crime fiction, opera
(Department Tutor)
 
Email: g.dart@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3139
Internal phone: 33139
Paul Davis 
Professor of English; Restoration and eighteenth-century literature
 
Email: paul.davis@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3125
Internal phone: 33125
Pragya Dhital
Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in English Literature
 
Email: p.dhital:ucl.ac.uk
Dennis Duncan
Associate Professor in English, 1900-1950
Email: dennis.duncan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3121
Internal phone: 33121
Karen Dwyer
Lecturer in English grammar and research methodology
Email: k.dwyer@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 3120
Internal phone:  33120
Amy Faulkner
Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in English Literature
 
Email: amy.faulkner@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7195
Internal phone: 37195
 
Mark Ford
Professor of English; nineteenth-, twentieth- and twenty-first century British, American, and French literature
 
Email: m.ford@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3129
Internal phone: 33129
Linda Freedman 
Associate Professor in English; nineteenth and twentieth-century literature
 
Email:  l.freedman@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 3137
Internal phone:  33137
Helen Hackett 
Professor of English; Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; Elizabeth I in literature; Renaissance women writers; Renaissance prose fiction; early modern Catholic writing; afterlives of Shakespeare and Renaissance literature
 
Email: h.hackett@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3127
Internal phone: 33127 
Philip Horne
Professor of English; Henry James; Victorian literature; modern literature; film
 
Email: f.horne@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3123 
Internal phone: 33123
Susan Irvine
Quain Professor of English Language and Literature; Old English literature and language
 
Email: s.irvine@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 3108 1080 
Internal phone: 51080

Gašper Jakovac
Marie Curie Global Fellow

Email: g.jakovac@ucl.ac.uk
Natalie Jones
Lecturer in Middle English Literature

Email: natalie.jones@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3142
Internal phone: 33142

Julia Jordan
Associate Professor of English; modern and contemporary literature
 
Email: julia.jordan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3124
Internal phone: 33142
Eric Langley
Associate Professor in English; Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature 
 
Email: eric.langley@ucl.ac.uk 
External phone: 020 7679 3143
Internal phone: 33143 
Beth Malory
Lecturer in English Linguistics
 
Email: b.malory@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: TBA
Internal phone: TBA

Victoria Moul
Associate Professor in English/Latin literary bilingualism of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries

Email: v.moul@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 0207 679 4598 
Internal phone 24598
John Mullan
Lord Northcliffe Chair of Modern English Literature
(Head of Department)
 
Email: j.mullan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3144
Internal phone: 33144
Richard North 
Professor of English; heroic and heathen themes in Old English and Old Icelandic literature, especially Beowulf and tenth-century skaldic poetry
 
Email: richard.north@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3122
Internal phone: 33122
Anthony Ossa-Richardson
Lecturer in Early Modern Literature 
Email: a.ossa-richardson@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3659
Internal phone: 33659
 
Tetiana Ostapchuk
Visiting Research Fellow
 
Email: t.ostapchuk@ucl.ac.uk
 
Eleni Ponirakis
Associate Lecturer (Teaching) in English Literature
Email: e.ponirakis@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 3108 1080 
Internal phone: 51080 
 
Charlotte Roberts
Lecturer in English Literature 1700-1830
Email: charlotte.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3145
Internal phone: 33145
 
Alison Shell
Professor of English; Renaissance literature and Shakespeare; literature and religion from the Reformation to the present day
 
Email: a.shell@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3150
Internal phone: 33150
Matthew Sperling
Associate Professor in Literature in English from 1900 to the Present Day
Email: m.sperling@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3148
Internal phone: 33148
 

Chris Stamatakis 
Associate Professor in English; Renaissance Literature
 

Email: c.stamatakis@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7343 
Internal phone: 37343
Hugh Stevens 
Senior Lecturer in English; Nineteenth and twentieth-century English and American literature; gay and lesbian writing
 
Email: h.stevens@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 2938
Internal phone: 32938
Peter Swaab
Professor of English; Romantics; Shakespeare; modern poetry
Email: p.swaab@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3140 
Internal Phone: 33140
 
Sean Wallis
Senior Research Fellow, Survey of English Usage
Email: s.wallis@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3120
Internal Phone: 33120
Office: Foster Court 126
Guyanne Wilson
Quirk Lecturer in English Linguistics
Email: guyanne.wilson@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone:  020 7679 3226
Internal Phone: 33226
 
Christine (Xine) Yao
Lecturer in American Literature to 1900  

Email: christine.yao@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3121
Internal Phone: 33121