UCL English


Academic Staff

Bas Aarts 
Professor of English Linguistics;  Director of the Survey of English Usage
Email: b.aarts@ucl.ac.uk
Phone: 020 7679 3130
Internal phone: 33130
Kathryn Allan
Senior Lecturer in the History of English; English Linguistics
Email: kathryn.allan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7653
Internal phone: 37653
Juliette Atkinson
Lecturer in English; nineteenth-century literature.  Department Tutor
Email: juliette.atkinson@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3146
Internal phone: 33146
Scarlett Baron
Lecturer in English; twentieth-century literature
Email: scarlett.baron@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7728 
Internal phone: 37728
Matthew Beaumont 
Professor of English; nineteenth and early twentieth-century literature
Email: m.beaumont@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 2567
Internal phone: 32567
Stella Bruzzi
Executive Dean, Faculty of   Arts and Humanities
Email: s.bruzzi@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 7195 
Internal phone: 37195
Marilyn Corrie
Lecturer in English Medieval literature; manuscripts and vernacular culture
Email: m.corrie@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3131
Internal phone: 33131
Ian Cushing
Teaching Fellow in English Linguistics; the Englicious project, Teaching English Grammar in Schools
Email: i.cushing@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3119
Internal phone: 33119 
Gregory Dart 
Professor of English; Romantic Period Literature; Hazlitt, Lamb, the nineteenth-century city, the essay form, crime fiction, opera
Email: g.dart@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3139
Internal phone: 33139
Paul Davis 
Reader in English; Restoration and eighteenth-century literature
Email: paul.davis@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3125
Internal phone: 33125
Rachele De Felice 
Teaching Fellow in English Linguistics
Email:  r.defelice@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 3226
Internal phone:  33226
Karen Dwyer
Teaching Fellow in English grammar and research methodology
Email: k.dwyer@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 3120
nternal phone:  33120
Mark Ford
Professor of English
Email: m.ford@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3129
Internal phone: 33129
Linda Freedman 
Lecturer in nineteenth and twentieth-century literature
Email:  l.freedman@ucl.ac.uk
External phone:  020 7679 3137
Internal phone:  33137
Nik Gunn
Teaching Fellow in Old and Middle English Literature
Email: n.gunn@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3659
Internal phone: 33659 
Helen Hackett 
Professor of English; Renaissance literature; Shakespeare; Elizabeth I in literature; Renaissance women writers; Renaissance prose fiction; early modern Catholic writing; afterlives of Shakespeare and Renaissance literature.
Email: h.hackett@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3127
Internal phone: 33127 
Philip Horne
Professor of English; Henry James; Victorian literature; modern literature; film
Email: f.horne@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3123 
Internal phone: 33123
Susan Irvine
Quain Professor of English Language and Literature
Email: s.irvine@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 3108 1080 
Internal phone: 51080
Natalie Jones
Lecturer in Middle English Literature
Email: natalie.jones@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3142
Internal phone: 33142
Julia Jordan
Lecturer in English; post-1945 literature; twentieth-century British and American fiction
Email: julia.jordan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3124
Internal phone: 33142
Eric Langley
Lecturer in Shakespeare and Renaissance Literature and Graduate Tutor
Email: eric.langley@ucl.ac.uk 
External phone: 020 7679 3143
Internal phone: 33143 
John Mullan
Lord Northcliffe Chair of Modern English Literature; Head of Department
Email: j.mullan@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3144
Internal phone: 33144
Richard North 
Professor of English; heroic and heathen themes in Old English and Old Icelandic literature, especially Beowulf and tenth-century skaldic poetry
Email: richard.north@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3122
Internal phone: 33122
Tom Owens
Teaching Fellow in English Literature
Email: t.owens@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3145
Internal phone: 33145
Charlotte Roberts
Lecturer in English Literature 1700-1830
Email: charlotte.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3145
Internal phone: 33145
Michael Sayeau 
Lecturer in English Late nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century literature
Email: m.sayeau@ucl.ac.uk

Alison Shell
Professor of English;  Renaissance literature and Shakespeare

Email: a.shell@ucl.ac.uk

External phone: 020 7679 3150

Internal phone: 33150

Matthew Sperling
Lecturer in Literature in English from 1900 to the Present Day
Email: m.sperling@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 3148
Internal phone: 33148
Chris Stamatakis 
Lecturer in English; Renaissance Literature
Email: c.stamatakis@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 7343 
Internal phone: 37343
Hugh Stevens 
Senior Lecturer in English; Nineteenth and twentieth-century English and American literature; gay and lesbian writing
Email: h.stevens@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 2938
Internal phone: 32938
Peter Swaab
Professor of English; Romantics; Shakespeare; modern poetry
Email: p.swaab@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3140 
Internal Phone: 33140
Kristen Treen
Teaching Fellow in nineteenth and twentieth century American Literature
Email: k.treen@ucl.ac.uk
External phone: 020 7679 1317
Internal phone: 31317
René Weis 
Professor of English Shakespeare and Renaissance literature; modern literature and drama
Email: r.weis@ucl.ac.uk
External Phone: 020 7679 3147
Internal Phone: 33147