UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


Education Team Contacts

How to contact us

Email your query to ion.educationteam@ucl.ac.uk, phone a member of staff or visit us in person. Opening hours for students are 10.00am-3.00pm daily. 

Please see also Graduate Tutor contacts

Where are we?

The Education Team is based on the Ground floor, 7 Queen Square, a five-storey building located on the west side of Queen Square. Enter the building up the front steps and, once inside, press the buzzer for the Education team: their offices are immediately to your left. 

Who are we?

Alex Leff

Prof Alex Leff
Deputy Director: Head of Education and Student Experience
Email: a.leff@ucl.ac.uk

Alex Addo

Alex Addo
Education Manager
Email: a.addo@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 3108 8250


Professional Services staff


Angela ORegan

Angela Alton

Senior Teaching Administrator (MRes Translational Neuroscience, MRes Neurosurgery, Undergraduate medical elective)

Email: angela.alton@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 0203 108 2273 


Masuda Khanom

Masuda Khanom

Deputy Education Manager (MSc Clinical Neuroscience, MSc/MRes Clinical Neuroscience: Stroke Medicine, MSc/MRes Clinical Neuroscience: Neuromuscular Disease and MSc Brain and Mind Sciences)

Email: m.khanom@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 


Chris Routh

Chris Routh

Senior Teaching Administrator (MSc Dementia (Neuroscience), MSc/MRes Advanced Neuroimaging & MSc Clinical Neurology (Distance learning)

Email: c.routh@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 


Ms. Jagdeep Dosanjh

Research Degree Programme Coordinator

Email: ion.pgr@ucl.ac.uk 


Anna Foakes

Anna Foakes

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator: MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning

Email: a.foakes@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

Lucy Piechnik

Lucy Piechnik

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator (BSc Human Neuroscience and iBSc Clinical Neurology and Brain Sciences)

Email: l.piechnik@ucl.ac.uk




Course Directors and Academic Teaching staff


Adam Liston

Dr Adam Liston
Course Co-Director & Associate Professor (Teaching): Advanced Neuroimaging

Email: a.liston@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 84107


Tarek Yousry

Prof Tarek Yousry
Course Co-Director: Advanced Neuroimaging

Email: t.yousry@ucl.ac.uk


nick ward

Professor Nick Ward

Course Co-Director: MSc Clinical Neuroscience

Email: n.ward@ucl.ac.uk


james kilner

Prof James Kilner
Course Co-Director: MSc Brain and Mind Sciences


Gabriele Lignani

Dr Gabriele Lignani

Course Co-Director: MSc Brain and Mind Sciences

Email: g.lignani@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Maria Chait

Prof Maria Chait
Course Co-Director: MSc Brain and Mind Sciences

Email: m.chait@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Sumanjit Gill
Course Co-Director & Associate Clinical Professor (Teaching): Stroke Medicine

Email: s.gill@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 84107

Prof David Werring

Prof David Werring
Course Co-Director: Stroke Medicine

Email: d.werring@ucl.ac.uk


james sleigh

Dr James Sleigh 
Course Co-Director: Neuromuscular Disease

Email: j.sleigh@ucl.ac.uk


Dr Roope Manniklo 
Course Co-Director: Neuromuscular Disease

Email: r.mannikko@ucl.ac.uk


Vincenzo Libri

Prof Vincenzo Libri
Course Director: MRes Translational Neuroscience

Email: vincenzo.libri@ucl.ac.uk


Matthew Appleby

Dr Matthew Appleby

MRes Translational Neuroscience

Email: matthew.appleby@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Jason Warren

Prof Jason Warren
Course Co-Director: MSc Dementia: Causes, Treatments and Research (Neuroscience) 

Email: jason.warren@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Jen Agustus

Dr Jennifer Agustus
Course Co-Director & Lecturer (Teaching): MSc Dementia: Causes, Treatments and Research (Neuroscience) 

Email: jennifer.agustus@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 84107

Dr Tim Young

Professor Tim Young

Course Co-Director and Clinical Professor (Teaching): MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning and iBSc Clinical Neurology and Brain Sciences

Email: t.young@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 83644


Graziella Favarato

Dr Graziella Favarato

Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: graziella.favarato@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 83644


Dr Saiful Islam

Dr Saiful Islam

Associate Professor (Teaching)

Email: afm.islam@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 83644


Mr Hani Marcus

Mr Hani Marcus

Course Director and Honorary Associate Professor: MRes Neurosurgery  

Email: h.marcus@ucl.ac.uk



Mr Mohammed Kamel

MRes Neurosurgery

Email: mohammed.kamel.15@ucl.ac.uk


Honorary Staff

dr shah jalal sarker

Prof Shah-Jalal Sarker (Honorary Associate Professor)


Email: shah-jalal.sarker@ucl.ac.uk

Honorary Clinical Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: Laura.moriyama@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Martin Grecco

Dr Martin Grecco

Honorary Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: martin.grecco.10@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Musa Watila 

Honorary Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: musa.watila.12@ucl.ac.uk


What do we do?

The Education Team is the dedicated section within the UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology (ION) responsible for all areas of student administration. The Team manages a portfolio of 9 Taught Graduate Courses and provides administrative, pastoral and generic academic support to over 250 research students registered at the ION. The Team is also responsible for some Continuing Professional Development (CPD) activities run by the ION and its sister hospital, the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. It runs an Elective programme for final year undergraduate medical students from UK, Europe and the rest of the world. The Team promotes best practice in the design and delivery of teaching and research supervision on site, in line with UCL policies and procedures.

Green Impact

The Education Team is a part of UCL's Green Impact initiative. We are committed to reducing waste and recycling wherever possible and review our practices regularly to ensure they are sustainable. 

If you would like to help us with this scheme please contact our 'Green Champion' Angela O'Regan.