XClose

UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Home
Menu

Education Team Contacts

How to contact us

Email your query to ion.educationteam@ucl.ac.uk, phone a member of staff or visit us in person. Opening hours for students are 10.00am-3.00pm daily. 

Graduate Tutor contacts

Each of our research departments has its own research departmental tutor (who is available for pastoral as well as scientific support) who reports to the departmental graduate tutor (who is there for pastoral as well as scientific support) at formal committee meetings four times a year.

Where are we?

The Education Team is based on the Ground floor, 7 Queen Square, a five-storey building located on the west side of Queen Square. Enter the building up the front steps and, once inside, press the buzzer for the Education team: their offices are immediately to your left. 

Who are we?

Prof Alex Leff

Prof Alex Leff
Deputy Director: Head of Education and Student Experience
Email: a.leff@ucl.ac.uk

David Blundred

Mr David Blundred
Education Manager
Email: d.blundred@ucl.ac.uk

 

Professional Services staff

Angela ORegan

Angela O'Regan

Senior Teaching Administrator (MRes Translational Neuroscience, MRes Neurosurgery, Undergraduate medical elective)

Email: a.o'regan@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

 

Masuda Khanom

Masuda Khanom

Senior Teaching Administrator (MSc Clinical Neuroscience, MSc Clinical Neuroscience: Stroke Medicine, MSc Clinical Neuroscience: Neuromuscular Disease)

Email: m.khanom@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

 

Chris Routh

Chris Routh

Senior Teaching Administrator (MSc Dementia (Neuroscience), MSc/MRes Advanced Neuroimaging & MSc Clinical Neurology (Distance learning)

Email: c.routh@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

Tracy Skinner
 
Ms Tracy Skinner

Research Degree Programme Coordinator

Email: t.skinner@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

Anna Foakes

Anna Foakes

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator: MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning

Email: a.foakes@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

 

 

desmond bates

Desmond Bates

Leonard Wolfson PhD Programme

Emaill: desmond.bates@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 108 2273 

 

Course Directors and Academic Teaching staff

Dr Caroline Selai

Dr Caroline Selai

Senior Lecturer. Course Co-director: MSc Clinical Neuroscience & MSc Brain and Mind Sciences

Email: c.selai@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 0203 448 4053

Nick Ward

Professor Nick Ward

Course Co-Director: MSc Clinical Neuroscience

Email: n.ward@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Amit Batla

Dr Amit Batla

Course Co-Director & Associate Professor (Teaching):: MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning

Email: a.batla@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 83644

Dr Adam Liston

Dr Adam Liston

Course Co-Director & Associate Professor (Teaching): Advanced Neuroimaging

Email: a.liston@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 84107

Prof Tarek Yousry

Prof Tarek Yousry
Course Co-Director: Advanced Neuroimaging

Email: t.yousry@ucl.ac.uk

Dr James Kilner

Prof James Kilner
Course Co-Director: MSc Brain and Mind Sciences

Email:j.kilner@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Maria Chait

Prof Maria Chait
Course Co-Director: MSc Brain and Mind Sciences

Email: m.chait@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Sumanjit Gill

Dr Sumanjit Gill

Course Co-Director & Associate Clinical Professor (Teaching): Stroke Medicine

Email: s.gill@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 84107

Prof David Werring

Prof David Werring
Course Co-Director: Stroke Medicine

Email: d.werring@ucl.ac.uk

 

Dr Roope Manniklo 
Course Co-Director: Neuromuscular Disease

Email: r.mannikko@ucl.ac.uk

 

Matilde Laura

Laura Matilde
Course Co-Director: Neuromuscular Disease

Email: m.laura@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Vincenzo Libri

Dr Vincenzo Libri
Course Director: MRes Translational Neuroscience

Email: vincenzo.libri@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Jason Warren

Prof Jason Warren
Course Co-Director: MSc Dementia: Causes, Treatments and Research (Neuroscience) 

Email: jason.warren@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Jen Agustus

Dr Jennifer Agustus
Course Co-Director & Lecturer (Teaching): MSc Dementia: Causes, Treatments and Research (Neuroscience) 

Email: jennifer.agustus@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 84107

Dr Tim Young

Dr Tim Young

Course Co-Director and Clinical Associate Professor (Teaching): MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning

Email: t.young@ucl.ac.uk 

Phone: 020 344 83644

 

Salman Haider

Dr Salman Haider

Clinical Lecturer (Teaching): PgDip and MSc Clinical Neurology via Distance Learning

Email: s.haider@ucl.ac.uk

 

Dr Saiful Islam

Dr Saiful Islam

Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: afm.islam@ucl.ac.uk

Phone: 020 344 83644

Mr Hani Marcus

Mr Hani Marcus

Course Director and Honorary Associate Professor: MRes Neurosurgery  

Email: h.marcus@ucl.ac.uk

Honorary Staff

shah-jalal sarker

Prof Shah-Jalal Sarker (Honorary Associate Professor)

Statistician

Email: shah-jalal.sarker@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Musa Watila

Dr Musa Watila 

Honorary Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: musa.watila.12@ucl.ac.uk

Pravin Thomas

Dr Pravin Thomas

Honorary Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

E-mail: pravin.thomas.11@ucl.ac.uk

 

 

 

 

 

Dr Martin Grecco

Dr Martin Grecco

Honorary Associate Lecturer (Teaching)

Email: martin.grecco.10@ucl.ac.uk

What do we do?

The Education Team is the dedicated section within the UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology (ION) responsible for all areas of student administration. The Team manages a portfolio of 9 Taught Graduate Courses and provides administrative, pastoral and generic academic support to over 250 research students registered at the ION. The Team is also responsible for some Continuing Professional Development (CPD) activities run by the ION and its sister hospital, the National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery. It runs an Elective programme for final year undergraduate medical students from UK, Europe and the rest of the world. The Team promotes best practice in the design and delivery of teaching and research supervision on site, in line with UCL policies and procedures.

Green Impact

The Education Team is a part of UCL's Green Impact initiative. We are committed to reducing waste and recycling wherever possible and review our practices regularly to ensure they are sustainable. 

If you would like to help us with this scheme please contact our 'Green Champion' Chris Routh.

green-impact