XClose

Department of Political Science

Home
Menu

MPhil and PhD Students

Luca Bellodi

Luca Bellodi

Luca's research focuses on bureaucratic influence over politicians and legislation. In particular, he investigates the influence of independent regulatory authorities on the liberalisation of the railway industry in Europe.

Email: luca.bellodi.17@ucl.ac.uk

Matila

Matilda Carter

Matilda is a PhD student in Political Theory. Matilda’s research pertains to the implications of dementia and an ageing society on contemporary political philosophy. 

Email: matilda.carter.15@ucl.ac.uk

Roberta

Roberta Damiani

Roberta’s main research interests are comparative politics, specifically parliaments and bicameralism, and Italian politics.

Email: r.damiani@ucl.ac.uk

Lotte

Lotte Hargrave

Lotte’s doctoral research measures (1) whether men and women have different political styles, (2) how these styles differ as a function of compositional and institutional factors, and (3) what the effect of any differences are on voters and their evaluations of MPs.

Email: lotte.hargrave.16@ucl.ac.uk

Jennifer Hodge

Jennifer Hodge

Jennifer's doctoral study focuses on the conditions under which civilians in war-torn states challenge the use of violence by mobilizing and participating in anti-war campaigns. 

Email: jennifer.hodge.18@ucl.ac.uk

Angelica 800x500

Angelica Johansson

She is focusing her PhD on the politics of climate change loss and damage, more specifically how the science of climate change attribution can affect political power relations on an international level within the UNFCCC. 

Email: uctqkl2@ucl.ac.uk

Andreas

Andreas Juon

Andreas’ research focuses on the impact of power-sharing on inter-ethnic relations. In particular, he is interested in how ethnically-based power-sharing institutions affect citizens’ perceptions and attitudes (most notably, the salience of ethnic identifications) as well as how they shape elite incentives (most notably the capabilities of ethnic minority politicians). 

Email: andreas.juon.16@ucl.ac.uk

Kasim

Kasim Khorasanee

Kasim’s research focuses on the phenomenon of open-mindedness from normative and empirical psychological perspectives. In particular, its relevance for elected representatives and our overall normative justifications for democracy.

Email: k.khorasanee@ucl.ac.uk

Alice

Alice Moore

Alice’s doctoral research examines the ways in which the size and scope of government contracts influence accountability and public participation in the services they deliver. 

Email: alice.moore.18@ucl.ac.uk

Ben

Ben Morgan

Ben is researching bureaucratic effectiveness and political failure, with a case study focus on migration and border control.

Email: b.morgan.12@ucl.ac.uk

Jay O'Connor

Jay O'Connor

Jay’s research, under the supervision of Prof David Coen and Dr Colin Provost, focuses on democratic accountability and the governance of health and social care in England. 

Email: j.o'connor.12@ucl.ac.uk

Antonio

Antonio Reyes-Gonzalez

Antonio’s research looks at the underlying social processes that drive cross-sector collaboration between public and non-public actors in the board of directors of global multi-stakeholder partnerships.

Email: antonio.reyes.16@ucl.ac.uk

Sigrid Webber 800x500

Sigrid Weber

Sigrid’s research focuses on internal forced migration, local conflict dynamics, and territorial control in civil wars.