UCL Division of Medicine


Research Departments, Centres and Institutes

The UCL Division of Medicine is the largest department in the Faculty of Medical Sciences, within the School of Life and Medical Sciences, forming one of the largest concentrations of biomedical scientists in Europe in one of the world's leading universities. The Division of Medicine consists of 9 Research Departments and 44 Centres/Institutes

The Division is closely linked with its  partner hospitals: University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, the Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust and the Whittington NHS Trust, which form the teaching hospitals of the Medical School. Each Research Department or Institute comprises a number of Centres each led by a senior member of faculty and with a particular research focus 

Experimental & Translational Medicine Image
Imaging Image
Inflammation Image
Digestive Health Image

Institute for Liver and Digestive Health

Head of Department: Professor Massimo Pinzani

  • Chronic Liver Disease
  • Tissue Repair
  • Metabolic Liver Disease
  • Gastroenterology
  • Cancer
  • Immunology, Transplantation, Infection
WIBR Image
Renal Medicine Image
Respiratory Medicine Image
Education Image


Head of Department: Professor Nathan Davies

  • BSc / Msci:  Andrew Williams and Johanna Donovan
  • MSc / MRes: Edith Chan
  • PhD: Justin Hsuan
  • MBPhD: Reza Motallebzadeh
  • iBSc/MBBS: Marsha Morgan
  • CPD/CME: Andrew Williams
Divisional Operations Image

Divisional Operations

Divisional Manager: Aisha Carroll

  • Divisional Administrator: Alison Kelly 
  • Human Resources: Mohini Badiani and Kinga Podolak
  • Research Administration & Management Accounts: Liam Banks, Rachel Pandian, Erwin Kooistra and Sanam Ali
  • Education Administration: Matthew Brown
  • Safety & Lab Operations: Roberta Perelli and Dean Heathcote
  • Diversity & Equality: Dorota Rowczenio