XClose

UCL Division of Medicine

Home
Menu

Institute for Liver and Digestive Health

The UCL Institute for Liver & Digestive Health is formed of six centres that concentrate the entire clinical and scientific activity in Hepatology at UCL with Hepatobiliary Medicine, Surgery and Liver Transplantation. We are one of the most international clinical research hubs in the world.

About us

The UCL Institute for Liver & Digestive Health is a major academic centre within the clinical consortium UCL-Partners (UCLP). Our aim is to develop and implement an extensive network of clinical excellence in North-East London.

We are also a major education site in Liver and Digestive Medicine. We provide training for UCL medical students, specialist registrars, graduate students, and post-doctoral fellows from all over the world.

Most of our academic and clinical activities are currently based at the Royal Free Campus in Hampstead, one of the UK's largest Foundation NHS Trusts.

Team picture from the Institute of Liver and Digestive Health

Research interests

Our research activities demonstrate a strong integration of clinical activities with laboratory expertise and biotechnological platforms. These span from very basic cellular and molecular biology to translational projects in Hepatology, Gastroenterology, HPB, Liver Transplant and Regenerative Medicine.

Opportunities

Hepatology at the Royal Free Hospital has a long tradition in hosting and training clinical and research fellows from all over the world - a great source of pride for us. We continue to welcome new fellows.

A poster for EASL fellowships

EASL Fellowships

The European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL) provides career-building opportunities for scientists, including a selection of EASL Fellowships. Our IDLH is among the most attractive host institutions for basic and clinical hepatology fellowships, as indicated by fellowship applications.

Visit EASL for details

Male clinical profession in white coat and with arms folded

Clinical posts

Each year, we offer two fully funded 12-month fixed-term senior clinical posts. These are mainly orientated to clinical training and are available through competitive interview. We also welcome fully self-funded clinical and research fellows for clinical or basic research provided they are eligible for GMC registration.

Email: emmanuel.tsochatzis@ucl.ac.uk


Teaching

The Institute for Liver & Digestive Health is a major education site and provides training for UCL medical students, specialist registrars, graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. We offer numerous postgraduate courses throughout the year at University College Hospital and The Royal Free Hospital.

Sheila Sherlock Hepatology Postgraduate Course (Online)

This three-day programme is for gastroenterology and acute medicine trainees and consultants looking for an update tailored to everyday practice. We equip clinicians with the knowledge and skills to manage liver disease patients expertly.

Our newly revamped programme covers hepatology in the clinic, acute medical take, ITU and liver transplant settings. This virtual event will feature livestreamed speakers and plenty of opportunities for audience interaction and questions.

Now in its tenth year, the course has an excellent reputation for its clinically relevant, interactive and curriculum-focussed content, and consistently excellent delegate feedback.

Poster for the Royal Free Sheila Sherlock Hepatology Postgraduate Course

View schedule

Book now


Contact

Lynn Knight, PA to Head of Department
l.knight@ucl.ac.uk

Telephone: +44 (0)207 433 2851

UCL Institute for Liver and Digestive Health
Upper 3rd Floor, Division of Medicine
Royal Free Campus
Rowland Hill Street
London, NW3 2PF

Collaborators

  1. Yale University
  2. St Mary's Hospital
  3. Hopital Beaujon
  4. Hospital Clinic Barcelona
  5. Case Western Reserve

Institute staff

Director

Massimo Pinzani
m.pinzani@ucl.ac.uk

Lynn Knight (Secretary)
l.knight@ucl.ac.uk

Research Operations Manager

Korsa Khan
k.khan@ucl.ac.uk

Academics

Professors

Graeme Alexander
g.alexander@ucl.ac.uk

George Grimble
g.grimble@ucl.ac.uk

Rajiv Jalan
r.jalan@ucl.ac.uk

Lesley Warren, PA to Prof Jalan
lesley.warren@ucl.ac.uk

Rajeshwar Moookerjee
r.mookerjee@ucl.ac.uk

Kevin Moore
kevin.moore@ucl.ac.uk

Marsha Morgan
marsha.morgan@ucl.ac.uk

Stephen Pereira
stephen.pereira@ucl.ac.uk

William Rosenberg
w.rosenberg@ucl.ac.uk

Clare Selden
c.selden@ucl.ac.uk

Emeritus Professors

Humphrey Hodgson
h.hodgson@ucl.ac.uk

Geoffrey Dusheiko
g.dusheiko@ucl.ac.uk

Readers / Senior Lecturers

James Dooley
j.dooley@ucl.ac.uk

Jude Oben
j.oben@ucl.ac.uk

Emmanuel Tsochatzis
e.tsochatzis@ucl.ac.uk

Project leader / Senior staff

Fausto Andreola
f.andreola@ucl.ac.uk

David J Brown
david.j.brown@ucl.ac.uk

Joseph Ndieyira
j.ndieyira@ucl.ac.uk

Krista Rombouts
k.rombouts@ucl.ac.uk

Clinical research staff

Kohilan Gananandan
k.gananandan@ucl.ac.uk

Jane MacNaughtan
j.macnaughtan@ucl.ac.uk

Gautam Mehta
gautam.mehta@ucl.ac.uk

Alexandra Phillips
alexandra.phillips@ucl.ac.uk

Post-doctoral fellows

Maria Del Pilar Acedo Nunez
p.nunez@ucl.ac.uk

Alex Ramirez
a.ramirez@ucl.ac.uk

Teaching fellows

Anton Emmanuel
a.emmanuel@ucl.ac.uk

Alireza Mani
a.r.mani@ucl.ac.uk

Paul Robinson
p.robinson@ucl.ac.uk

Research Assistants / Technicians

Thomas Brookshaw
t.brookshaw@ucl.ac.uk

Sherri Ann Chalmers (PT)
s.chalmers@ucl.ac.uk

Eloy Erro
e.erro@ucl.ac.uk

Rosa French
rosa.french@ucl.ac.uk

Abeba Habtesion
a.habtesion@ucl.ac.uk

Harry Hodgetts
h.hodgetts@ucl.ac.uk

Ruth Jacobs
r.jacobs@ucl.ac.uk

Margarita Papatheodoridi
m.paptheodoridi@ucl.ac.uk

Philipp Schwabl
p.schwabl@ucl.ac.uk

Elizaveta Zotova
elizaveta.zotova.18@ucl.ac.uk

Support staff

Philippa Ekin
philippa.ekin@nhs.net

Lynn Knight
l.knight@ucl.ac.uk

PhD students

Ponni Balasundaram
ponni.balasundaram.12@ucl.ac.uk

Elisabetta Caon
e.caon@ucl.ac.uk

Lucia Marinas Del Rey
lucia.rey.20@ucl.ac.uk

Luca Frenguelli
l.frenguelli@ucl.ac.uk

Danai Kati
danai.kati.18@ucl.ac.uk

Jaiwei Li
Jiawei.li.10@ucl.ac.uk

Stewart MacDonald
stewart.macdonald@ucl.ac.uk

Maria Castanho Martins
maria.martins.17@ucl.ac.uk

Alexander Ney
alexander.ney.15@ucl.ac.uk

Mariya Semkova
mariya.semkova.15@ucl.ac.uk

Paul Trembling
rmhapmt@ucl.ac.uk

Division of Surgery

Brian Davison
b.davidson@ucl.ac.uk

Barry Fuller
b.fuller@ucl.ac.uk

David Hawkes
d.hawkes@ucl.ac.uk

Kurinchi Gurusamy
k.gurusamy@ucl.ac.uk

Royal Free Trust Staff

Consultant Hepatologists & Senior Lecturers

Ravindra Gupta
ravindra.gupta@ucl.ac.uk

Aileen Marshall
aileen.marshall@nhs.net

Alistair O'Brien
a.o'brien@ucl.ac.uk

David Patch
d.patch@ucl.ac.uk

Belinda Smith
belinda.smith3@nhs.net

Penelope Smith
penelopesmith@nhs.net

Deepak Suri

Douglas Thorburn
douglas.thorburn@nhs.net

Rachel Westbrook
rachel.westbrook@nhs.net

Douglas MacDonald
douglasmacdonald@nhs.net

HPB Consultants

Brian Davidson
b.davidson@ucl.ac.uk

Giuseppe (Kito) Fusai
g.fusai@ucl.ac.uk

Charles Imber
charles.imber@nhs.net

Rahul Koti
r.koti@ucl.ac.uk

Theodora Pissanou
theodora.pissanou@nhs.net

Skakhanat (Zak) Rahman
zak.rahman@nhs.net

Keith Rolles
keith.rolles@nhs.net

Arjun Shankar
arjun.shankar@uclh.nhs.uk

Dinesh Sharma
dinesh.sharma@nhs.net

Consultant Gastroenterologists

Martyn Caplin
m.caplin@ucl.ac.uk

Edward Despott
edward.despott@nhs.net

Owen Epstein
owen.epstein@nhs.net

Gamal Erian
gamal.erian@nhs.net

Mark Hamilton
mark.hamilton4@nhs.net

Maria Jaboli
maria.jaboli@nhs.net

Charles Murray
charles.murray@nhs.net

Christos Toumpanakis
c.toumpanakis@ucl.ac.uk