XClose

Estates

Home
Menu

Security Team

UCL Security is available 24 hours a day to assist all members of UCL and the general public with UCL related matters.

The security team provides a safe and secure working environment to all UCL staff, students and visitors.

Security Operations

Our operations services include:

  • Dealing with emergencies and criminal investigations.
  • Provideing 24/7 security response and patrol services.
  • Monitoring CCTV and alarms in our control room.
  • Staffing the main gatehouses and receptions of some buildings.
  • Offering advice and guidance regarding security matters.

Security Systems 

We run essential security systems to help the University run smoothly and safely every day. These systems include:

  • Providing ID / entry cards for students, staff and visitors to UCL. Access can be added to the cards to areas controlled by access control systems.
  • Installing and maintaining entry card systems.
  • Installing and maintaining CCTV and alarm systems, and the connection of external alarm systems to the UCL Control Room (fire, equipment failure etc.).
  • Providing keys.
  • Providing advice on security matters involving all types of locks and the use of access control, including arranging the design and installation of master-keyed lock systems.

The Security team 

David Everett
Deputy Director Campus Experience & Commercial Services

+44 (0)20 3108 8670 (UCL ext 58670) 
d.everett@ucl.ac.uk

Mark West
Head of Security

+44 (0)20 7679 3343 (UCL ext 33343)
mb.west@ucl.ac.uk

Oliver Curran
Deputy Security Manager

+44 (0)20 7679 7788 (UCL ext 37788)
o.curran@ucl.ac.uk

Mike Dawe
Security Systems Manager

+44 (0)20 7679 7735 (UCL ext 37735)
m.dawe@ucl.ac.uk

Hayley Midwinter
Customer Service & Contract Manager – Security Systems

+44 (0)20 3108 1006 (UCL ext 51006)
h.midwinter@ucl.ac.uk

Natalie West
Security Systems Administrative Supervisor

+44 (0)20 7679 2100 (UCL ext 32100)  
n.west@ucl.ac.uk

Grant Williams
Security Systems Technical Coordinator

+44 (0)20 7679 7826 (UCL ext 37826)
grant.williams@ucl.ac.uk

Darren Watts
Crime Prevention and Personal Safety Advisor

+44 (0)20 7679 1523 (UCL ext 51523)
darren.watts@ucl.ac.uk

Administrative Assistant 

+44 (0)20 7679 7111 (UCL ext 37111) or 020 7679 2102 (UCL ext 32102)
securitysystems@ucl.ac.uk