EGA Institute for Women's Health


Meet the Team

The biggest contributors to the EPICure study are the paediatricians and neonatal nurses from all the maternity units in the UK and Ireland who contributed to the original data collection and made the whole thing possible and of course the parents and children who have taken part in the childhood studies, giving freely of their time, to help us collect this important information. 

Three principal investigators have been responsible for directing EPICure from its inception - Kate Costeloe, Alan Gibson and Neil Marlow. For each phase of the study, they have been joined by a group of collaborators, to supervise the project, and a group of doctors, nurses and psychologists who have helped to do the assessments – these are all listed in the EPICure study sections below.

Since 2005 both EPICure and EPICure2 studies have been funded by the Medical Research Council. 

Neil Marlow

Institute for Women's Health, UCL, Neil Marlow, Neonatology






Neil Marlow  is Professor of Neonatal Medicine and Principal Investigator of the EPICure follow up studies. 

Institute for Women's Health,
University College London,
Medical School Building,
74 Huntley Street,

Email here

Alan Gibson

Alan Gibson meet the team







Alan Gibson is Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician (Retired)


Neonatal Intensive Care Unit,
Jessop Wing,
Royal Hallamshire Hospital,
Glossop Road,
S10 2JF

Kate Costeloe

Kate Costeloe







Kate Costeloe is Emeritus Professor of Paediatrics.

Homerton Hospital,
Homerton Row,
E9 6SR

EPICure study page

The collection of data for the first EPICure study was for all births between March and December 1995.  We continued collecting data in three areas for a further 2 months so we had full year data for part of the country.

The original study was coordinated from Homerton Hospital by Professor Kate Costeloe,  helped by Fiona Stacey, and from The Jessop Hospital for Women by Dr Alan Gibson, supported by Sally Carne.

All the subsequent follow up studies were coordinated by Professor Neil Marlow initially from the University of Nottingham based at Queen's Medical Centre.

The Study Manager until September 2010 was Heather Palmer, who organised all the mailing and appointments and was the key member of the research team. 

From November 2010, and following Professor Marlow's appointment to University College London, the study office moved to the UCL Institute for Women's Health and Laura McCormack took over over as Study Manager.

The lead investigators for the study phases have been: 

2 year study:

Dr Nicolas Wood (EPICure Research Fellow)
Team:  Amanda Bennett, North West, Lindsay Logie, Scotland, Michele Cruwys, NW Thames, Bala Mallya, SW Thames, Moira Dick, SE Thames, Ruth Macgregor, Yorkshire/North East, Sandra Egan & Ximena Poblete, NE Thames, Jane Schulte , South West, Alison Livingstone , Northern Ireland/Eire
Training: Clare Lawson
Statistics: Enid Hennessy
Funding: Serono Laboratories Ltd; BLISS, the premature baby charity

6 year study: 

Dr Melanie Bracewell & Ms Catherine Bamford (EPICure Research Fellows)
Team: Michele Cruwys, London; Helen Betteridge, Isabel Tsverik, North & Midlands; Margaret Morris, Orla Flanagan, Maria Morahan, North West; Lesley McDonald, Hanna Bruhn, Scotland; Ruth MacGregor, Mrs Sandra Johnson, South West; Emma Luck , Midlands & South; Iliana Magiati, Margaret Morton, London; Sue Thomas, North East 
Advisor: Prof Dieter Wolke (Co-investigator), Muthana Samara
Statistics: Enid Hennessy
Funding:  Bliss, the Health Foundation, Wellbeing of Women
EPICure Steering group: external members
Prof Phillip Steer (chair), Dr. Ian Laing, Prof Peter Pharoah, Prof A Wilkinson, Dr M Lewins

The 11 year Study:

Dr Samantha Johnson & Dr Joe Fawke (EPICure Research Fellows)
Team: Sue Thomas, Vicky Rowell, Becky Smith, Rebecca Trikic
ICH Team:   Sooky Lum, Ah Fong Hoo, Liam Walsh, Jane Kirby, Suellen Walker
Collaborators: Prof Janet Stocks (Co-applicant), Prof Dieter Wolke, Prof Chris Hollis, Prof John Cockroft, Dr Carmel McEniery.
Statistics:  Enid Hennessy, Sadia Haider
Genetics Study: Hugh Montgomery, Christina Hubbart, Lucy Raymond (with thanks to the Bailey Thomas Foundation who have funded the genetic analyses)
Funding: MRC
MRC EPICure Steering group: Prof. Peter Brocklehurst (chair), Prof. Richard Cooke, Prof. Andy Bush, Dr Maggie Redshaw, Prof Kate Costeloe, Prof. Janet Stocks, Dr Samantha Johnson, Prof. David Taylor, Prof. Elizabeth Draper, Enid Hennessy, Dr Richard Morton, Dr Noreen Maconochie, Jane Abbott (Bliss), Dr Tamanna Moore, David and Alison Matthews, Nigel and Dianne Turner.  

The EPICure@19 study:

Research Team: Joanne Beckmann, Helen O’Reilly (EPICure Research Fellows), Andrew Melbourne, Suellen Walker, Isaac Huen.

Collaborators: John Hurst, Sam Johnson, Dieter Wolke, Sebastien Ourselin, Xavier Golay, Joan Morris, Chris Hollis, John Cockcroft, Carmel McEniery, Charlotte Bolton.

Study Management: Laura McCormack

Statistics: Joan Morris, Catherine Bennett, Yanyan Ni

Funding: MRC

EPICure2 study page

The collection of data for EPICure 2 was from January to December 2006.  We collected information about the birth and newborn course for all babies born between 22 and 26 weeks of gestation (i.e. all babies born up to and including 26 weeks and 6 days of gestation).

The Medical Research Council funded the whole study

The Perinatal Study was coordinated from the Homerton Hospital by Professor Kate Costeloe, helped by a team comprising:

Kerry Montoute, Research manager Fiona Stacey, Research nurse Beth Rushmer, Research midwife Rachel Lee, Research assistant Catherine Kelly, Secretary Enid Hennessy, Statistician Jonathan Myles, Statistician

In this study we also worked closely with Professor Elizabeth Draper and her team including Martin Perkins (Database) and Helen Holden (Data entry) from the University of Leicester, who coordinated the information from the delivery room in partnership with CEMACH and ran a major survey of the resources in England that provided neonatal care.

The other members of the Perinatal group who designed and supervised the study were Zarko Alfirevic, Alan Gibson, Shona Golightly (CEMACH), Alison Miller, Helen Porter, Mike Webb, Andrew Wilkinson

The 3 year study was led by Professor Neil Marlow, initially from the University of Nottingham and then from University College London.  The study manager who coordinated the EPICure 2 was Heather Palmer.  The team who designed the study also included Dr Samantha Johnson (Research Psychologist)

Dr Tamanna Moore (EPICure research fellow)

Philippa Chisholm (EPICure research fellow)

Assessment team: Haytham Ali, Katie Banerjee, Jackie Birch, Richard Cooke, Pat Dulson, Sandeep Dharmaraj, Tony Hart, Charlotte Huddy, Angela Huertas, Anoo Jain, Sam Johnson, Julia Lilley, Caroline McFerran, Katherine Martin, Robin Miralles, Vijay Palanivel, Sarah Skinner, Aung Soe, and Nick Wood.

Statistics: Enid Hennessy

MRC EPICure Steering group: Prof. Peter Brocklehurst (chair), Prof. Richard Cooke, Prof. Andy Bush, Dr Maggie Redshaw, Prof Kate Costeloe, Prof. Janet Stocks, Dr Samantha Johnson, Prof. David Taylor, Prof. Elizabeth Draper, Enid Hennessy, Dr Richard Morton, Dr Noreen Maconochie, Jane Abbott (Bliss), Dr Tamanna Moore, David and Alison Matthews, Nigel and Dianne Turner.

The EPICure2@11 Study

Research Team:  Emmi Suonpera, Amanda Fahy, Marialivia Bernardi (UCL) Jayne Trickett, Rebecca Lancaster, Jen Larsen (PhD Student) (Leicester)

Collaborators: John Hurst, Sam Johnson, Dieter Wolke, Puja Kocha, John Cockcroft, Carmel McEniery

Study Management: Laura McCormack, Carla Logon

Statistics: Joan Morris, Yanyan Ni

Funding: MRC and University of Leicester (PhD Studentship)