UCL Public Policy


UCL Policy Champions Network

The UCL Policy Champions Network is a grass-roots group of researchers, academics, and professional services staff from across UCL.

Champions act as ambassadors for academic-policy engagement within their own research community and across UCL.

Policy Champions contribute to the work of UCL Public Policy, by promoting public policy within their departments and sharing best practices across the Network.

Champions support the mission by

  1. Promoting public policy within and beyond your department as a way of championing a culture of policy engagement.
  2. Participating by regularly attending PCN Meetings and communicating virtually, sharing own departmental experiences, actively participating in discussions on best practice, taking the opportunity to broaden knowledge of good practice across UCL, and build links with other Policy Champions.
  3. Contributing to the UCL Public Policy initiative by actively liaising within departments, with the UCL Public Policy Board and across the PCN on academic-policy engagement; working with UCL Public Policy to identify and meet departments’ needs.
  4. Informing peers, being proactive in ensuring that researchers within departments are aware of academic-policy engagement opportunities; acting as a central point of contact to promote the UCL Public Policy initiative, and co-ordinating updates and news items on department policy engagement on behalf of UCL Public Policy for inclusion in communication materials.
  5. Sharing with the Network and colleagues, best practice on engaging with policy makers, and/or on methods of collecting information on policy relevant activities. 

Find your departmental Policy Champion

Policy ChampionDepartmentFaculty

Professor Andrea Townsend-Nicholson

Department of Structural & Molecular BiologyLife Sciences

Dr Sophie Acton 

MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology 

Life Sciences

Dr Ine SteenmansSTEaPP (Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy)Engineering
Professor David PymDepartment of Computer ScienceEngineering
Professor Stephen ToddUCL School of ManagementEngineering
Francesca FroyUCL Institute for Innovation and Public PurposeThe Bartlett
Dr Chris HarkerUCL Institute for Global ProsperityThe Bartlett
Paul DrummondUCL Institute for Sustainable ResourcesThe Bartlett
Dr Liza Griffin Development Planning Unit The Bartlett
Dr Ilias KrystallisSchool of Constuction & Project ManagementThe Bartlett
Dr Camilo Garcia TrillosDepartment of MathematicsMathematical & Physical Sciences
Professor Peter CoveneyDepartment of ChemistryMathematical & Physical Sciences
Dr Seth AnziskaDepartment of Hebrew and Jewish Studies

Arts & Humanities

Dr Federico FedericiSchool of European Languages, Culture and SocietyArts & Humanities
Kieren ReedSlade School of Fine ArtArts & Humanities
Dr Amy HortonDepartment of Geography

Social & Historical Sciences

Dr Helen Stark

SHS Faculty Office, Faculty of Social & Historical Science

Social & Historical Sciences

Dr Ben NobleSchool of Slavonic and East European Studies

Social & Historical Sciences

Lucy Shackleton 

UCL European Institute


Emma Wisby

Institute of EducationInstitute of Education
Dr Rob HighamIOE Learning and LeadershipInstitute of Education
Dr Chloe ParkinUCL GOS Institute of Child HealthPopulation Health Sciences
Dr Rochelle BurgessInstitute for Global HealthPopulation Health Sciences
Dr Aradhna KaushalInstitute of Epidemiology and Health CarePopulation Health Sciences
Siobhan MorrisUCL Grand ChallengesUCL Research

Kayleigh Renberg-Fawcett

Capabilities in Academic Policy Engagement (CAPE) 

UCL Research 
Lina KamenovaStudent Support and WellbeingOffice of the Vice-Provost (Education)
Dr Helen Tsui Innovation & Enterprise
Sylwia Wasiak UCL Careers 
Bryan Taylor Global Engagement 

Vasilisa Skvortsova

 Institute of Neurology

Brain Sciences
Ciara Wright Brain Sciences
Vacant Medical Sciences
Vacant  Office of the Vice-Provost (Advancement)