XClose

UCL Global

Home
Menu

Contact us

The Global Engagement (GE) team, and UCL's networks of Pro-Vice-Provosts and Vice-Deans (International), help forge connections, collaborations and relationships between people at UCL and others in universities, companies and organisations around the world. 

Contact us for guidance and support with:

  • Partnerships and collaborations, from concept and proposal onwards
  • International delegations, both inbound and outbound
  • Regional advice, expertise and knowledge sharing
  • Global communications, including the UCL Global Update
Vice-Provost (RIGE)

Professor David Price

Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation & Global Engagement)

Professor David Price served as UCL Vice-Provost (Research) from 2007–2021 before taking up the post of UCL Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation & Global Engagement).

David is responsible for bringing together a range of functions, services and resources to improve the ways they work together to facilitate and promote the public benefit generated by our research and academic colleagues, as well as to maximise UCL’s collective institutional impact on the world.

headshot of Professor David Price
Pro-Vice-Provost (International)

Professor Deenan Pillay

Pro-Vice-Provost (International) 
pro.vpi@ucl.ac.uk

Deenan Pillay, Professor of Virology at UCL Division of Infection and Immunity, began his three-year term as UCL Pro-Vice-Provost International (PVPI) in February 2020. 

The PVPI provides engaging, inspirational and strategic academic leadership for UCL’s networks of Regional Pro-Vice-Provosts and Vice-Deans International.

Until recently, Deenan was also seconded from UCL as Director of the Africa Health Research Institute (AHRI), where he focused on clinical, population and laboratory-based studies to limit the spread of HIV.

Professor Deenan Pillay, Pro-Vice-Provost International
Pro-Vice-Provosts (Regional)

The PVPs play an important strategic role as a catalyst for UCL’s engagement in their particular region.

Each term they chair a meeting of the Regional Network; they also welcome international delegations to UCL and act as ambassadors and advocates for UCL's work internationally.

Director Katharine Carruthers

Pro-Vice-Provost (East Asia)
Email: k.carruthers@ucl.ac.uk

Katharine Carruthers is the Director of the UCL Institute Of Education (IOE) Confucius Institute for Schools. Her research interests centre around teaching and learning of Chinese as a foreign language in schools, the notion of intercultural competence in Chinese and UK schools and globalisation and language policy.

Katharine chairs the East Asia Network.

Katharine Carruthers - UCL Global Engagement Office

Professor Brad Karp

Pro-Vice-Provost (North America)
Email: bkarp@cs.ucl.ac.uk

Brad Karp is a Professor of Computer Systems and Networks and Head of the Systems and Networks Research Group in the Department of Computer Science at UCL. His research interests span computer system and network security, large-scale distributed systems and wireless networks.

Professor Karp chairs the North America Network.

Brad Karp - UCL Global Engagement Office

Dr Uta Staiger

Pro-Vice-Provost (Europe)
Email: u.staiger@ucl.ac.uk

Uta Staiger is Executive Director of the UCL European Institute. Her research interests are in mid-20th-century European thought seeking to straddle aesthetics and politics, and the role culture plays for ideas of citizenship in both political theory and European integration.

Dr Staiger chairs the Europe Network.

Dr Uta Staiger - UCL Global Engagement Office

Professor Monica Lakhanpaul 

Pro-Vice-Provost (South Asia)
Email: m.lakhanpaul@ucl.ac.uk 

Professor Lakhanpaul is Professor of Integrated Community Child Health at the UCL GOS Institute of Child Heath. In 2016 she was appointed Head of Population, Policy and Practice. Professor Lakhanpaul’s research promotes citizen science and she particularly focuses on disability, asthma and nutrition as exemplar public health issues in South Asian families. 

Professor Lakhanpaul chairs the South Asia Network.

Professor Monica Lakhanpaul

Professor Stephen Hart 

Pro-Vice-Provost (Latin America)
Email: stephen.malcolm.hart@ucl.ac.uk

Stephen M. Hart (BA, Cambridge University 1980; PhD, Cambridge University, 1985) is Professor of Latin American Film, Literature and Culture at UCL. He is a specialist in Latin American literature, film and culture and has published a series of monographs and edited volumes on Latin American literature and film.

Professor Hart chairs the Latin America Network.

Prof Stephen Hart

Professor Claudio Stern

Pro-Vice-Provost (South East Asia and Australasia)
Email: c.stern@ucl.ac.uk

Claudio Stern was born in Uruguay, and moved to the UK where he took a BSc in Biological Sciences and PhD at Sussex University, followed by postdoc at UCL. He is a former Head of the Department of Anatomy (now “Cell and Developmental Biology.”)

Professor Stern chairs the South East Asia Network.

Professor Claudio Stern - UCL Global Engagement Office
Vice-Deans (International)

The Vice-Deans (International) provide a Faculty focus for UCL's global activities – they help us tell the story of UCL’s global impact by discipline and department.

UCL Global Engagement works closely with the Vice-Deans (International) to facilitate global engagement across UCL.

SLMS

Professor Patrick Haggard

Vice-Dean (International) for Brain Sciences
Email: p.haggard@ucl.ac.uk

Patrick Haggard leads a research group at the Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience.  He has extensive experience of research collaborations, management of international teaching programmes, and international enterprise activity.  He has been involved in several international programmes, particularly at EU level (COST, ERC, ESF), and with Japan.

Patrick Haggard - UCL Global Engagement Office

Professor Jolene Skordis

Vice-Dean (International) for Population Health Sciences

Email: j.skordis@ucl.ac.uk

Jolene Skordis is Director of UCL’s Centre for Global Health Economics, Deputy Director of the Institute for Global Health and Vice Chair of the European Global Health Research Institutes Network. She is an economist, specialising in health and development, and a regular advisor to the WHO and World Bank. Her work has directly influenced government policy in a range of countries. 

headshot of Professor Jolene Skordis

Professor Ahmed Rashid

Vice-Dean (International) for Medical Sciences
Email: ahmed.rashid@ucl.ac.uk

Ahmed Rashid is Associate Clinical Professor at UCL Medical School, where he leads a portfolio of international collaboration projects, including in Saudi Arabia, China, Thailand, Egypt and Jordan. He has served as a university accreditation reviewer in UAE and Bahrain, as a medical school external examiner in the UK and Oman, and has advised on postgraduate medical training in Vietnam, Japan, and Mexico. 

Ahmed Rashid

SLASH

Professor Kimberley Trapp

Vice-Dean (International) for Laws 

Email: k.trapp@ucl.ac.uk 

Kimberley Trapp is Associate Professor of Public International Law. She holds a PhD (with the Yorke Prize) and LLM from the University of Cambridge, and a BA, LLB and BCL from McGill University. Her research focuses on issues relating to armed conflict, and the interaction between international law regulating the use of force and terrorism suppression / human rights law.  Kimberley is Co-Director of the UCL Public International Law Pro Bono Project.

Kimberley trapp

Professor David Coen

Vice-Dean (International) for Social and Historical Sciences 

Email: d.coen@ucl.ac.uk

David Coen is the founding Director of the Institute of Global Governance at UCL. Previously he was Head of Department of Political Science from 2010 to 2018. He has held the Fulbright Distinguished Fellowship at Harvard University and visiting fellowships at Harvard, Boston University, the Max Planck Institute, Koln, Sciences Po Paris, and the European University Institute, Florence.

david coen headshot

Professor Florian Mussgnug

Vice-Dean (International) for Arts and Humanities 

Email: f.mussgnug@ucl.ac.uk

Florian Mussgnug is Professor of Comparative Literature and Italian Studies in SELCS. He has held visiting and honorary positions at Rome Sapienza University, the Universities of Siena, Roma Tre, Oxford and Cagliari, and the British School at Rome. From 2018-2021, he served as the first academic director of the UCL Cities Partnerships Programme, enabling the organisation of more than forty UCL-led international conferences and symposia in Rome.

Florian Mussgnug headshot

BEAMS 

Professor Eli Keshavarz-Moore

Vice-Dean (International) for Engineering

Email: e.keshavarz-moore@ucl.ac.uk

Eli Keshavarz-Moore is Professor of Bioprocess Science & Enterprise. Since 2000 Eli has led the development and implementation of innovative enterprise training at the bioprocessing/life sciences interface, encompassing a range of courses at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The programme has extended to include business enterprise for industry in the healthcare and biotechnology sectors.

Professor Eli Keshavarz-Moore - UCL Global Engagement Office

Professor Ofer Lahav

Vice-Dean (International) for MAPS

Email: o.lahav@ucl.ac.uk

Ofer Lahav is Perren Chair of Astronomy in the Astrophysics Group at UCL. He is also co-Director of the STFC-funded Centre for Doctoral Training in Data Intensive Science at UCL, established in 2017. Ofer's research area is observational cosmology, in particular probing and characterising dark matter and dark energy. His work involves advanced statistical methods e.g., machine learning for big data.

Headshot of Ofer Lahav

Institute of Education

Professor John O'Regan 

Vice-Dean (International) for Institute of Education

Email: john.oregan@ucl.ac.uk

John O’Regan is Reader in Applied Linguistics in the Centre for Applied Linguistics at UCL IOE. He holds a PhD in Critical Linguistics from the IOE, and MAs from Birkbeck College and the University of Warwick. As an applied linguist his research is concerned with the exploration of real-world problems in which language is a central issue. John grew up in Hong Kong and has close ties with the East Asia region. He also speaks Spanish.

John O'Regan
Global Engagement team

View members of the Global Engagement team by function:

GE Directorate

Ciaran Moynihan, Director of UCL Global Engagement (Interim)
ciaran.moynihan@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7777 / internal 5777

Toni Blunden, Executive Support Officer
t.blunden@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7818 / internal 57818


Communications

Sophie Vinter, Senior Global Engagement Communications Manager 
s.vinter@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7787 / internal 57787

Jinnie Chua, Communications Officer 
j.chua@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 6676 / internal 56676


Global Partnerships

Conor Rickford, Head of Global Partnerships (Interim)
c.rickford@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7785 / internal 57785 

Andrew Brown, Senior Partnership Manager (South East Asia, Japan & Australasia) 
andrew.l.brown@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 6632  / internal 56632

Elizabeth Deacon, Senior Partnership Manager (East Asia)
e.deacon@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 6923 / internal 6923

Dr Amit Khandelwal, Senior Partnership Manager (South Asia)
amit.khandelwal@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7811 / internal 57811

Elinor Kruse, Interim Senior Partnership Manager (Africa & Middle East)
elinor.kruse@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 9044 / internal 59044

Jessica Middleton, Interim Senior Partnership Manager (Europe)
j.middleton@ucl.ac.uk

Tomoyo Miyakawa, Interim Senior Partnership Manager (Americas)
t.miyakawa@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7799 / internal 57799

Anna Brown, Administrative Assistant
a.m.brown@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7575 / internal 57575

Sophia Hilt, Administrative Assistant
s.hilt@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7795 / internal 57795


Planning and Operations

Piera Gerrard, Head of Planning and Operations
p.gerrard@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7781 / internal 57781

Numaan Chohan, Office Manager
n.chohan@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7775 / internal 57775

Bryan Taylor, Programme Manager (Interim)
bryan.taylor@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7780 / internal 57780

Chris Cook, Strategic Programme Manager (Interim)
c.cook@ucl.ac.uk+44 (0)20 3108 7566 / internal 57566

Victoria Parrett, Project Support Officer (Interim)
v.parrett@ucl.ac.uk