UCL Division of Medicine


Division of Medicine retains Athena Swan Silver Status

18 May 2022

The Division of Medicine retains Athena Swan Silver Status until May 2027

Call for abstracts
Receiving this award is the result of a huge amount of work carried out by the Division of Medicine Athena Swan committee, which has worked tirelessly, continuously and for a very long period of time to make this happen. Their work has improved the fabric of the division by highlighting faults, failings and shortcomings within our division and finding solutions to them. In essence, we owe a debt of gratitude to AS committee"  Professor Derek Gilroy, Interim Director, Division of Medicine, UCL

Driving change to organisational culture in higher education and research, Advance HE’s Equality Charters aim to transform and support gender and race equality in HE and research.

Advance HE’s Equality Charters are catalysts for change – encouraging higher education institutions and research institutes to transform their cultures and make an impact on the lives of staff and students. 

The DoM SAT members:

Dr. Dorota Rowczenio: (Chair) Principal Scientist


Dr. Markella Ponticos:  (Co-Chair) Senior Lecturer, non-clinical academic


Aisha Carroll: Divisional Manager, senior administrator


Dr Nyala Balogun: Research nurse


Dr. Anna Barnes: Senior Clinical Lecturer


Prof. Rachel Batterham: Medical Director, clinical academic


Dr. Edith Chan: Associate Professor 


Dr. Marie-Belle El Mdawar: Research Associate


Claudio Del Fatti: PhD Student Renal Medicine


Prof. Derek Gilroy: Scientific Director, non-clinincal academic


Dr. Sandra Gomez Lopez: Research Associate


Alison Kelly:  Administrator


Dr. Nephtali Marina-Gonzalez: Associate Professor Teaching


Dr Puja Mehta: Research Training Fellow


Dr. Manuela Plate: Senior Research Associate


Kinga Podolak: Senior HR Officer


Dr Angela Tam: Senior Research Fellow 


Dr. Vitor de Sousa Texeira: Lecturer


Hadija Trojer: Research Technician


Zoe Whiteman: PhD student