The Laidlaw Research and Leadership Programme


Scholars 2019 - still clone of 2018

Congratulations to our new Laidlaw Scholars! From 170 applications, the new cohort of 26 Laidlaw Scholars was announced in March 20190.

Successful applicants demonstrated outstanding intellectual ability, leadership ambitions and a high motivation to undertake two six-week academic projects over two summers. 

The 14 women and 12 men are drawn from nine of UCL’s faculties. They are:

Medical Sciences

  • Marcellus Augustine (Medicine)
  • Ashley Reid (Applied Medical Sciences)

Life Sciences

  • Konstantin Pildish (MSci Biochemistry)
  • Stefan Rogers-Coltman (Biomedical Sciences)

Mathematical and Physical sciences (MAPS)

  • Asher Dworkin (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Seng Aik Lee (MSci Physics)
  • Emma Lane (Statistics, Economics and Finance)
  • Alexa Marroquin (Chemistry Bsc)

Engineering Sciences

  • Hannah Bellenbaum (MSci Medical Physics)
  • Inamul Haque (Engineering (Chemical) MEng)
  • Tomás Pereira Pires (Engineering (Biomedical) Meng)

The Bartlett

  • Anastassia Gusseinova (Urban Planning, Design and Management)

The UCL Institute of Education (IOE)

  • Zhanyi Chen (BSc Social Sciences with Quantitative Methods)
  • Serena Inzani (Social Sciences BSc)

Arts and Humanities

Social and Historical Sciences

  • George Hadjipavlis (Politics and East European Studies (with a Year Abroad))
  • Anamika Pillai (History BA)
  • Maciej Respekta (Economics and Geography)
  • Andrei Savitski (L100 Bsc Economics)


  • Amy Johnson (Law L.L.B)