Joint Research Office


NIHR 2019 Senior Investigators announced

15 March 2019

UCL researchers have been appointed or re-appointed as National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Senior Investigators in the NIHR’s 2019 round of awards.

The 20 re-appointments include UCL’s Professor David Lomas (Respiratory Diseases), Professor Judith Stephenson (Public Health), Professor Caroline Sabin (Epidemiology) and Professor William Rosenberg (Gastroenterology and Hepatology).

The 26 new appointments include UCL’s Professor Perry Elliott (Cardiology and Cardiovascular Disease), Professor Naomi Fulop (Health Policy and Services) and Professor Andrew Hayward (Public Health).

18 new Emeritus Senior Investigators include UCL’s Professor Peter Fonagy (Psychology) and Professor Nick Wood (Neurology).

Senior Investigators, who serve three-five year terms, are the NIHR’s senior leaders. They provide research leadership to the NIHR, promoting clinical and applied research in health and social care, and constitute a network of experts able to provide advice to the Department of Health and Social Care.

NIHR Senior Investigator status is awarded on the basis of a number of competitive criteria: quality and volume of internationally excellent research; its relevance to patients and the public; impact on improvements in healthcare and public health; research leadership; contribution to NIHR; engagement of patients and the public with their research; and engagement of healthcare policy makers and planners.

Full details of all appointments can be found on the NIHR website.