XClose

Information Services Division

Home
Menu

Set message approval for central distribution list messages in Outlook Web Access (OWA)

Message approval allows you to restrict whether messages sent to your central distribution list needs to be approved before they are sent out.

When you set message approval, any messages sent to the distribution list that require approval will need to be reviewed by a moderator before they are delivered.

Note: When a new distribution list is created the Message Approval features defined below are disabled. The Delivery management feature is enabled instead. For further guidance, see the Restrict/allow senders to a central distribution list in Outlook Web Access (OWA) how-to guide.

Before you start...

  • You will need to be a registered owner of the distribution list to perform these changes.


Instructions

1.  In Mail view, click on Settings (visible as a cog wheel icon) within the top-right corner. Select View all Outlook settings.

2.  A Settings window will appear. Select General. Select Distribution groups.

3. Under distribution groups I own, select the list you want to change, then select Edit (visible as a pencil icon). Alternatively you can also open the list details by double clicking on it.

4. A new window will open with details about your central distribution list. Select Message Approval from the left-hand pane.

5. Select the tick-box Messages sent to this group have to be approved by a moderator. Further modifications can then be made using the option fields in the individual sections:

 

Group Moderators

Group Moderators are a list of defined people other than the owner to are authorised to allow or reject messages sent to the list. By default, the owners will receive messages requiring approval.

1. To change group moderators, beneath Group moderators, perform one of the following: select the Add (visible as a plus (+) icon) or Remove (visible as a minus (-) icon).

If adding a new moderator:

1. Select Add (visible as a plus (+) icon). You will be prompted to search for the new moderator from the directory (Global Address List). In the Search People field, type the name, user ID or email address of the individual.

2. Once you have found the person you want to add, either double click on their name, or select the name and then select Add (visible as a plus (+) symbol) next to the name.

3. The chosen account will appear in the Group moderators field above the Search People field. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for any other new moderators. Select Save.

If removing a moderator:

1. Select the person you would like to remove and then select Remove (visible as a minus (-)) icon).

 

Senders who don't require message approval (Authorised senders)

Authorised senders can send to the list without requiring approval.

To change which senders don't need approval, beneath Senders who don't require message approval, select the Add (visible as a plus (+) icon) or Remove (visible as a minus (-) icon).

If adding a new authorised sender:

1. Select Add (visible as a plus (+) icon). You will be prompted to search for the new moderator from the directory (Global Address List). In the Search People field, type the name, user ID or email address of the individual.

2. Once you have found the person you want to add, either double click on their name, or select the name and then select Add (visible as a plus (+) symbol) next to the name.

3. The chosen account will appear in the Senders field above the Search People field. Repeat steps 2 and 3 for any other new authorised senders. Select Save.

If removing an authorised sender:

1. Select the person you would like to remove and then select Remove (visible as a minus (-)) icon).

 

Choose when to send moderation notifications

These settings specify how senders are notified when the messages sent to the list have not been approved. By default notify all senders when their messages aren't approved is selected. 

The other available options are:

  • Notify senders in your organization when their messages aren't approved
  • Don't notify anyone when a message isn't approved.


6. Once you have performed all the required changes, click Save to apply.


Related guides and other info:

Help and support

Feedback

We are continually improving our site, so please provide us any feedback on this web page using the form below. It would also be really useful if we could discuss your feedback with you, so if you are happy to be contacted please include your UCL email address in 'Email' field below.

Please note: We can only respond to UCL email addresses

Help us improve this page