XClose

UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Home
Menu

People

We are a community of UCL academics, researchers, students and staff who search for answers to some of the most urgent problems that face humans and other animals.

Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre 

The Centre is based at Queen Square and directed by Professor Francesco Muntoni, a Paediatric Neurologist who has dual appointments in both institutions (IoN QS and GOSH ICH).

In 2022, Professor Muntoni was made director of the Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre, a new gene therapy translational research partnership, based at Queen Square Institute of Neurology and in close collaboration with the UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health. This cross-faculty collaboration within UCL will drive forward an exciting evolving area with direct therapeutic benefits for patients with disabling neurological conditions. In the last few years he obtained several international awards, including the 2022 Ottorino Rossi Award, the World Duchenne Organisation 2022 Leadership Awards, the 2023 European Paediatric Neurology Society Jean Aicardi Award and the 2024 Richard Attenborough Award for Outstanding Achievement for Muscular Dystrophy.

Contacts

Professor Francesco Muntoni, Centre Director, Professor of Paediatric Neurologist and the Director of the Dubowitz Neuromuscular Centre, at the UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health and Great Ormond Street Hospital for Children, London, UK. Email: f.muntoni@ucl.ac.uk

Sophie Ostler, Centre Officer, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: s.ostler@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Silvia Torelli, Senior Cell Biologist at Dubowitz Neuromuscular Centre / Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: s.torelli@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Haiyan Zhou, Senior Associate Professor of Genetics & Genomic Medicine / Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: haiyan.zhou@ucl.ac.uk

Professor Jenny Morgan, Emeritus Professor of Cell Biology, Dubowitz Neuromuscular Centre, Developmental Neurosciences Research and Teaching Department, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health. Email: jennifer.morgan@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Jo Ng, Senior Research Fellow, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: j.ng@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Sara Aguti, Senior Research Fellow, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: sara.aguti@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Laia Torres Masjoan, Research Fellow, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: L.masjoan@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Rebeca Gil, Research Fellow, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: rebeca.gil@ucl.ac.uk

Arta Aghaeipour, Research Assistant, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: a.dehkaei@ucl.ac.uk

Hester Chu, Research Assistant and PhD Candidate, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email hester.chu.16@ucl.ac.uk

Camila Vallve Maine, Research Assistant, UCL Genetic Therapy Accelerator Centre. Email: c.maine@ucl.ac.uk

Links