Governance and compliance


Academic structure and heads of department

Read about the academic structure of UCL, including the academic units, heads of department and instructions for restructuring of academic units.

Statute 10 of the UCL Charter and Statutes provides as follows: “There shall be such academic units of the College as the Council on the advice of the Academic Board may from time to time determine, with such powers as determined by the Council on the advice of the Academic Board.”

The academic units of UCL are listed in the UCL Regulations for Management (11.1 and 11.2). Find out more about these units, their academic heads (“Heads of Department”) and the process required in restructuring academic units below.

UCL Portico columns

Academic Units

UCL’s research and teaching is organised within a network of faculties and academic departments.

Students sitting on the Portico steps

Restructuring Academic Units

Guidance for faculties proposing restructuring or renaming of formally established academic units.

Full lecture theatre

Heads of academic departments

A comprehensive list of heads of department for all of UCL's academic departments.