Governance and compliance


Academic Units

UCL’s research and teaching is organised within a network of faculties and academic departments which are formally established by Council on the advice of Academic Board.

The formally established academic units are listed below. For any queries, please contact Anne Marie O'Mullane.

Information about other, less formal academic groupings can be found on the UCL Research website or Faculties website.

Faculty of Arts and Humanities
Department of English Language and Literature
Department of Greek and Latin
Department of Hebrew and Jewish Studies
Department of Information Studies
Department of Philosophy
Slade School of Fine Art
School of European Languages, Culture and Society
School of Slavonic and East European Studies
UCL Arts and Sciences 

Faculty of Brain Sciences
Division of Psychiatry
Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
Ear Institute
Institute of Ophthalmology
Institute of Prion Diseases
UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology
UK Dementia Research Institute HQ

Faculty of the Built Environment 
The Bartlett Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis
The Bartlett School of Architecture
The Bartlett School of Sustainable Construction
The Bartlett School of Environment, Energy and Resources
The Bartlett Development Planning Unit
The Bartlett School of Planning
UCL Institute for Global Prosperity
UCL Institute for Innovation and Public Purpose
UCL Urban Laboratory

Faculty of Engineering Sciences 
Department of Biochemical Engineering
Department of Chemical Engineering
Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering
Department of Computer Science
Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Department of Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering 
Department of Science, Technology, Engineering and Public Policy
Department of Security and Crime Science
UCL School of Management

Faculty of Laws 

Faculty of Life Sciences
Division of Biosciences
MRC Laboratory for Molecular Cell Biology
UCL School of Pharmacy

Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Department of Chemistry
Department of Earth Sciences
Department of Mathematics
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Department of Science and Technology Studies
Department of Space and Climate Physics
Department of Statistical Science
Institute for Risk and Disaster Reduction

Faculty of Medical Sciences 
Cancer Institute
Division of Infection and Immunity
Division of Medicine 
Division of Surgery and Interventional Science
Eastman Dental Institute
UCL Medical School

Faculty of Population Health Sciences 
Global Business School for Health
Institute of Cardiovascular Science
Institute of Clinical Trials and Methodology
Institute of Epidemiology and Health Care
Institute for Global Health
Institute of Health Informatics
UCL Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Institute for Women's Health
UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health

Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences 
Department of Anthropology
Department of Economics
Department of Geography
Department of History
Department of History of Art
Department of Political Science 
Institute of Archaeology
Institute of the Americas

UCL Institute of Education 
Department of Culture, Communication and Media
Department of Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment
Department of Education, Practice and Society
Department of Learning and Leadership
Department of Psychology and Human Development
Social Research Institute

Other Academic Units outside the faculty structure
Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour