Teaching & Learning


The Education Awards 2023 winners announced

7 June 2023

We are delighted to announce the winners of the 2023 UCL Education Awards.


Staff and students from across UCL came together on Wednesday 7 June on the Wilkins Terrace to celebrate the staff who go the extra mile to support student learning. Congratulations to the winners of the Provost's Education Awards, Student Choice Awards and Academic Rep of the Year.

The Education Awards comprise of:

While the Student Choice Awards focus on rewarding excellence as experienced by students, UCL Education Awards recognise the work of colleagues that is less visible to students; work that has enabled excellence or facilitated innovation in teaching and learning. 

The awards were presented by UCL's President & Provost, Dr Michael Spence and Professor Kathy Armour, Vice-Provost Education and Student Experience, and Hamza Ahmed, the Students' Union Education Sabbatical Officer.

On opening, UCL President and Provost, Dr Michael Spence commented:

These awards are really special, becuse the fact that your really busy students and colleagues are willing to make time to show their appreciation and esteem in this way shows you are all doing something really special. I’m tremendously honoured to be here to celebrate you all and to say thank you. 

Professor Kathy Armour, Vice-Provost Education and Student Experience said:  

“These awards celebrate everything that is excellent about Education at UCL... student-centred education is central to the academic mission at UCL and that it fundamentally impacts on the lives of our learners: both whilst they are with us and as they go out and change the world around them. Ensuring an excellent education is everybody’s business and so I’m incredibly proud to see staff and students working in partnership to achieve this shared endeavour all over UCL every day.”

A massive congratulations to all the winners this year!

Provost Education Award winners 

49 individual and 22 team nominations were put forward by faculties. Out of these, 8 individuals and one team were nominated, and the winners are: 

  • Assessment and Feedback Matthew Fisher, Faculty of Laws and Andrew Williams, Faculty of Medical Sciences (joint winners)
  • Digitally enriched learning  Charmian Dawson, Faculty of Life Sciences (winner), Online Master of Public Health Team, Faculty of Population Health Sciences (runner up)
  • Openness and Inclusion – Dr Andrea Fredericksen, UCL VP RIGE (winner), Special Collections/Library Skills Team, UCL VP RIGE (runner up)
  • Postgraduate Teaching Assistants (PGTAs) – Damian Phelan, Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences (winner), Department of Learning and Leadership Team, IOE, UCL’s Faculty of Education and Society (runner up)
  • Staff-student partnership – Chris Hoyle, UCL VP RIGE
  • Student support  UCL Careers Extra team, UCL VP ESE (winner), Dr Emma Kelley, Faculty of Medical Sciences (runner up)
  • Supporting students' employability Nikki Baxter, UCL VP ESE and Dr Melanie Garson, Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences (joint winners)
  • Sustainability – Dr Adesh Sundaresan, Faculty of Medical Sciences (winner), UCL MBA Team, Faculty of Engineering Sciences (runner up)

Student Choice Award Winners 

936 nominations were received from students, recognising 478 members of staff for their contributions, and the winners for each of the nine awards are: 

  • Active Student Partnership Jean-Christophe Mauduit, Faculty of Engineering Science
  • Amazing Support Staff – George Burridge, Faculty of Population Health Sciences
  • Brilliant Research-based Education – Louise Cramer, Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Diverse & Inclusive Education – Kristen Kreider, Faculty of Arts and Humanities
  • Excellent Personal Tutoring – Jess Bailey, Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences
  • Exceptional Feedback – Joana Jacob Ramalho, School of European Languages, Culture and Society
  • Inspiring Teaching Delivery – Damian Phelan, Faculty of Social and Historical Science
  • Outstanding Research Supervision  Matt Fisher, Faculty of Laws
  • Sustainable Education  Chris Howard, Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences 

Academic Rep of the Year 

We have nearly 2,000 Academic Reps, who represent students’ academic interests every day. Any student or staff member can nominate an Academic Rep (including Course Reps, Research Student Reps, Lead Department Reps and Faculty Reps) for this award.

Each faculty has an award for Academic Rep of the Year, which are listed below. ​​ 

Faculty Rep Award winners: 

  • Stanislava Dimitrova, Faculty of Arts & Humanities
  • Yasmin Garcia-Sterling, Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment
  • Eden Nabiyou, Faculty of Brain Sciences
  • Ari Weiler-Ofek, Faculty of Engineering Sciences
  • Harriet Israel, IOE, UCL’s Faculty of Education and Society
  • Lukas Baumann, Faculty of Laws 
  • Arya Toleti, Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Andrea Lekare, Faculty of Mathematical & Physical Sciences
  • Marine-Oceane Verdez-Scholler, Faculty of Medical Sciences 
  • Dania Posso Hernandez, Faculty of Population Health Sciences 
  • Naomi Hampton, Faculty of Social & Historical Sciences 

This year, we received 168 nominations for Academic Rep of the Year and the overall winner of Academic Rep of the year is: 

  • Harriet Israel, IOE, UCL’s Faculty of Education and Society 

Find out more about the UCL Education Awards.