Teaching & Learning


Awards 2019

The winners of the UCL Education Awards and the Student Choice Awards were announced on Thursday 30 May 2019 at the Education Awards, held in the Wilkins Terrace.

UCL Education Awards recognise the work of colleagues that is less visible to students, work that has enabled excellent practice or facilitated innovation in teaching and learning. As well as recognising the work of postgraduate students who teach, individual colleagues and teams can be nominated.  Any member of staff can nominate an individual staff member or team for these awards. 

Nominations were considered at the Faculty level and then put forward to the awards panel. 

All 39 individual nominations and 12 team nominations received a UCL Education Award. The awards panel then identified exceptional individuals and teams to receive a Provost’s Education Award, which carries a financial reward. 

The following 10 individuals and 3 teams received Provost’s Education Awards at the event.

Individual Awards

Eva Renon

Postgraduate Teaching Assistant, Institute of the Americas and Arts and Sciences

Eva has stood out as an exemplary teacher with a drive to ensure that all of her students are included and take part in her seminars. She has become a personal tutor for BASc first years, gaining a reputation for giving sound guidance and support. She has engaged with students beyond her immediate academic role, helping set up transition mentoring within the Institute of the Americas.

Thomas Kador

Senior Teaching Fellow, Arts and Sciences

Thomas has been awarded for “embodying interdisciplinary, research-based education.” He is an integral part of the BASc programme and as well as leading three of the programme’s core modules has also developed a fourth module that launched this year. Thomas’ own research into object-based learning feeds into his modules and is continuously introducing innovative changes to the curriculum.

Juliana Martins

Senior Teaching Fellow, Bartlett School of Planning

Juliana is being awarded for her part in raising the quality of teaching and skills development within the Bartlett School of Planning. She actively supports connections between Alumni and their involvement with teaching and learning activities, taking a leading role in helping her students transition to their future careers. She delivers an excellent teaching experience, using her substantial practice knowledge and experiences to further help her students. 

Martyn Towner

Lab Technician, UCL Department of Chemistry

Martyn is a “very proactive and innovative” member of the Chemistry department. He has played an essential part in enhancing the student experience and is a source of outstanding support. He has gone above and beyond his role to ensure that feedback is used to help the department shift towards an innovative research-based laboratory experience.     

Sarah Rowe

Senior Fellow, Division of Psychiatry

Sarah has been instrumental in recent changes to assessment and feedback, academic support, and innovation and the use of new technologies within the MSc Mental Health Sciences programme. She encourages student engagement and offers opportunities for skills development within a journal club that she initiated. She has “a highly engaging personality and great enthusiasm both for her subject and for postgraduate education”. 

Isidoros Strouthos

Teaching Fellow, UCL Department of Mathematics

Isidoros is a “fantastically charismatic lecturer”, who delivers excellent teaching with ease across his three large modules within the Mathematics department. He personally ensures that all booked rooms are suitable for mathematical teaching, his colleagues appreciate all of his hard work and have even said that Isidoros is “without a doubt one of the best lecturers this department has ever had”.

Vanessa Puetz

Senior Teaching Fellow, UCL Department of Clinical, Educational and Health Psychology

Vanessa is being awarded for her extraordinary commitment to students within the MRes Developmental Neuroscience and Psychopathology programme, who rate her among the best lecturers of the faculty. She has enhanced and transformed the student learning experience by designing new and inclusive learning activities, using a strong research-based education approach and supporting students in their academic and personal development.

Jayne Kavanagh

Principal Clinical Teaching Fellow, UCL Medical School

Jayne has been awarded for establishing the flagship widening participation project Target Medicine, the reproductive rights action group for medical students Viva la Vulva and for chairing the Medical School’s Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee. She has significantly enhanced the educational experience for students, introducing innovative teaching on reproductive health and inequality issues, showcasing her belief in empowering and facilitating student and staff. 

Jane Simmonds

Departmental Graduate Tutor, UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health

Jane is being awarded for commitment to education. She continually strives to improve the experience of her students.

Jane is always quick to offer support where needed to both those who work and study with her. She always commits 100% to developing new ways of teaching and has been proactive in leading changes in the student experience to better accommodate student needs.

Michela Tincani

Lecturer, UCL Economics

Michela is awarded for being a dedicated lecturer who brings a wealth of diversity into the classroom. Her teaching delivery is described as magical and innovative, evolving the material in her lectures each year as a result of student feedback. Michela is described as an “exemplary member of the Economics Department” and a “great example to other faculty members”.

Team awards

Perioperative Medical Education team

Abigail Whiteman, Gautum Kumar, Sam Bampoe, Robert Stephens, David Walker and Anna Szajda

The Perioperative Medical Education team is awarded for their “incredibly rich and diverse award-winning education”. Each team member is a practising clinician with significant on-call commitment and they still find the time to provide readily accessible education to their students.

The team has crafted “a nurturing learning environment” for their students and created a fully online MSc, with more than 250 students enrolled across five continents. Central to the success has been a strong collegiate spirit within the team. They have embraced the Connected Curriculum and have developed a strong research base to their course.

UCL Geography undergraduate

Helen Bennion, Andrew Harris, Jonathon Holmes, Tariq Jazeel, Anson Mackay, Johanna Waters and Jason Dittmer

This team are awarded for radically reforming the first year course of the Geography undergraduate degree. They are commended for showing the department’s commitment to the Connected Curriculum and ability to act of student feedback.

They have helped the first years of UCL Geography develop a sense of identity, helping them feel a part of the community. They created a course that bridges with the Geography A-Level to help students better adapt to university and close gaps that were apparent in the curriculum.

MSc in Health Professions Education (HPE) team

Lisa Andrews, Fran Pitman, Natasha Malik, Paul Crampton, Miranda Kronfli, Kerry Boardman, Graham Easton, and Michael Page

The MSc Health Professions Education team in UCL Medical School is awarded for being a highly innovative, student-centred programme which is led by committed and creative individuals. They have developed practices and processes which have had major influence on student learning in the context of assessment and feedback; achievements that were only possible thanks to collaborations across the team with a collective goal to make a genuine impact on the learning of students.