Student and Registry Services



This page contains details of GCSE qualifications.

< Back to UK Qualifications



Reformed GCSE's are being phased in for students in England. Teaching for the first phase of subjects began in 2015, with the firet awards in 2017. Reformed GCSE’s are graded on a 9-1 scale with grade 9 representing the highest attainment. During the transition period, students will be awarded GCSE’s on both the A*-G and the 9-1 scale. By 2020, all subjects will be graded on a 1-9 scale. GCSE’s in Wales and Northern Ireland will continue to be graded on the A*-C scale.

UCL consider a grade 5 to be comparable to a grade C.

The list below shows the date of first teaching for each reformed subject:

From first teaching September 2015:

  • English language
  • English literature
  • Mathematics

From first teaching September 2016

  • Ancient languages (classical Greek and Latin)
  • Art and design
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Citizenship studies
  • Combined science
  • Computer science
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Food preparation and nutrition
  • Geography
  • History
  • Modern foreign languages (French, German, Spanish)
  • Music
  • Physical education
  • Physics
  • Religious studies

From first teaching September 2017

  • Ancient history
  • Astronomy
  • Business
  • Classical civilisation
  • Design and technology
  • Economics
  • Electronics
  • Engineering
  • Film studies
  • Geology
  • Media studies
  • Modern Foreign Languages (Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, Italian, Japanese, modern Greek, modern Hebrew, Polish, Panjabi, Russian, Urdu)
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
  • Statistics

From first teaching September 2018

  • Ancient languages (biblical Hebrew)
  • Modern foreign languages (Gujarati, Persian, Portuguese, Turkish)

Teacher Training

The Institute of Education requires all candidates seeking admission onto Teacher Training programmes to have obtained qualifications commensurate with GCSE mathematics and English language (and in some cases science) at grades A*-C. Students applying with a reformed GCSE qualification from England will be expected to achieve grades of 9-5.

  • Vocational ‘Applied’ GCSE’s, for example GCSE Applied Science’, do not satisfy UCL’s GCSE requirements.
  • Students presenting ‘Additional’ subjects, for example ‘Additional Mathematics’, should have also taken GCSE Mathematics.