The Centre for Planetary Sciences at UCL / Birkbeck


Professor Ian Crawford receives NASA Exploration Science Award

24 May 2023

Congratulations to Professor Ian Crawford on his recent NASA Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award 2023!

The 2023 Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award has been given to CPS colleague and Board member, Ian Crawford, Professor of Planetary Science and Astrobiology at Birkbeck College, University of London. 

NASA’s Solar System Exploration Research Virtual Institute (SSERVI) Awards recognize outstanding achievements in exploration science. Recipients have each made unique contributions to NASA’s human exploration efforts. The awards will be presented along with invited lectures from the recipients at the 2023 NASA Exploration Science Forum (NESF) on 18–20 July.

The Michael J. Wargo Exploration Science Award is an annual award given to a scientist or engineer who has significantly contributed to the integration of exploration and planetary science throughout their career.

Quoting from the NASA SSERVI award announcement:

Dr. Crawford has contributed over 150 papers to scientific and professional journals on astronomy, planetary science, astrobiology and space exploration, and his lunar science and exploration research has been hugely impactful-- both the remote sensing work on the lunar surface and his laboratory analysis of lunar samples. His work with lunar samples has helped 'ground truth' remote sensing data obtained from orbit to provide a better understanding of the geological evolution of the lunar crust and mantle.

The full article with details of all of the awards can be read here.

Congratulations to Ian on this well-deserved accolade!