UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


Queen Square Inaugural Lectures

9 May 2017

UCL Institute of Neurology is pleased to report on the success of the two sets of inaugural lectures it has hosted so far this year. These are the first in a series which will continue throughout 2017.

On 26th January, Professor Ying Li, (Professor of Neurosciences) gave a lecture entitledRepair CNS Injuries by Transplantation of Olfactory Ensheathing Cells”, followed by Professor Barkhof (Professor of Neuroradiology) on  “Translational Neuroimaging – from Engineering to Healthcare”.

"It is great to see that the results of our studies of transplantation of Olfactory Ensheathing Cells in experimental models have led to the clinical application of repairing human spinal cord injury". Professor Ying Li,  Professor of Neurosciences
“It is exciting after so many years of collaboration to now work at UCL and being able to translate the latest engineering advances in MRI analysis to clinical applications that improve diagnosis and treatment of patients”. Professor Frederik Barkhof, Professor of Neuroradiology

From left to right (Roger Lemon, Mike Hanna, Ying Li, Frederik Barkhof, Nick Fox)

The second pair of lectures were given on 27th April 2017 by Professor Kenneth Harris (Professor of Quantitative Neuroscience), who spoke on "Neuromics", followed by Professor Rob Brownstone (Brain Research Trust Chair of Neurosurgery) with a lecture entitled "Neural Circuits for Movement”

“It is wonderful to be in an environment like UCL, where we have the diverse skills, collaborative environment, and outstandingly talented colleagues that make this kind of interdisciplinary work possible” Professor Kenneth Harris, Professor of Quantitative Neuroscience 
“The unique position of the Institute of Neurology as a key pillar of the bidirectional bridge between clinical and fundamental neuroscience makes it the key centre for translational neuroscience. I look forward to adding my bit of rebar to the pillar!” Professor Rob Brownstone, Brain Research Trust Chair of Neurosurgery

From left to right (Linda Greensmith, Kenneth Harris, Rob Brownstone, Mike Hanna, John Wood)

Further information:

Future inaugural lectures