UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


Four UCL scientists elected Fellows of the Royal Society

9 May 2017

Professor Sarah (Sally) Price (UCL Chemistry), Professor Angus Silver (UCL Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology), Professor Jennifer Thomas CBE (UCL Physics & Astronomy) and Professor Neil Burgess (UCL Institute of Neurology) are among 50 distinguished scientists elected as Fellows and 10 as new Foreign Members announced by the Royal Society.

The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from or living and working in the UK and the Commonwealth.

Four UCL scientists have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society in recognition of their outstanding contribution to science.

Professor Neil Burgess, Director of the UCL Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, has made important theoretical and experimental contributions to understanding memory and spatial cognition. He develops computational models relating behaviour to activity in the brain’s neuronal networks and designs novel experiments to test their predictions. Neil’s models explain how networks of neurons allow us to represent, remember and imagine our location within the surrounding environment.

Professor Michael Arthur, UCL’s President & Provost, said: “Being elected as Fellows to the Royal Society truly recognises outstanding individual achievements and I offer Sally, Angus, Jenny and Neil my warmest congratulations. The accolades highlight the tremendous contribution that UCL researchers make globally and I’m sure the whole UCL community will join me in celebrating their success.”

Further information: