UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology


Teaching Awards 2016

26 July 2016

The Education Unit would like to highlight the following teaching awards

Clinical Teaching Awards

For the fifth year voting was held for the Djamshidian-Chinthapalli award for outstanding contribution to teaching (for bedside teaching for MSc/Diploma students) and the winner of the award was Dr Niamh Cawley with an honourable mention for Dr Richard Rosch and Dr Ione Woollacott.

The winner for Clinical Tutor of the year went to Dr James Gratwicke (eligibility was based on clinical sessions, Master Classes, and Case Presentations). Dr Michael O'Brien came in second with Prof Niall Quinn and Dr David Lynch polling votes. We would like to pass on our congratulations to Dr Gratwicke, who is the winner of this award for the second year in a row, and to thank everyone who contributed to teaching this year.

Clinical Neuroscience Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award

For the fourth year the Education Unit asked all MSc Clinical Neuroscience students to vote for their lecturer of the year, in our attempt to recognise and reward our outstanding lecturers.

I am pleased to announce that Mr Ludvic Zrinzo has been awarded the Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award. Students cited Mr Zrinzo for an outstanding lecture.
Mr Zrinzo is the fourth recipient (the 2nd time Mr Zrinzo has won this award) of the Dr Tony Pullen Lecturer of the Year Award (the award is so named in recognition for the dedication that Dr Pullen showed during his time at Queen Square and in particular for his tireless support of teaching and pastoral care for students enrolled on the MSc in Clinical Neuroscience).

Honourable mentions to Prof Shamima Rahman, Dr Ed Wild, Prof Nick Fox , Dr Jeremy Rees and Dr Alex Leff and Prof Matthew Walker who all polled votes.