Information Studies



Purpose and remit of EDI Group

The Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Group is committed to helping DIS promote the value of different identities to create an organisational culture that is respectful and inclusive irrespective of ethnicity, gender, disability, race, sexual orientation, age, marriage or civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, and religion or belief.

Specifically, the group will:

  1. Develop a long-term EDI strategy, identify and propose priorities, and draw up an action plan with clear objectives and targets. 
  2. Encourage colleagues and students across the department to contribute to the development of the action plan. 
  3. Seek regular feedback from those responsible for implementation of the plan. Review and report on progress against targets and monitor data regularly throughout the year. 
  4. Determine the impact of initiatives aimed at improving equality and refresh the aims as appropriate.
  5. Oversee the formulation and submission of Athena Swan applications.
EDI Group members


Sarah Davenport: Teaching and Learning Administrator, Inclusion Lead

Alison Sizer: Research Associate (CeLCIUS), Inclusion Lead


Oliver Duke-Williams: Associate Professor, Programme Director MA/MSc in Digital Humanities

Charlie Inskip: Associate Professor, Head of Department

Terrie Fiawoo: Departmental Manager

Daniel Onah: Lecturer (Teaching)

Samantha Rayner: Professor, Faculty Vice-Dean Wellbeing

Anna Sexton: Lecturer, Programme Director MA in Archives and Records Management

Hannah Smyth: Lecturer in Archives and Records Management

Elizabeth Shepherd: Professor

Andreas Vlachidis: Lecturer