Division of Infection and Immunity


Professor Judith Breuer elected as Academy of Medical Sciences Fellow

8 May 2019

Academy Fellows are selected for their outstanding contributions to advancing medical science, cutting edge research discoveries, and translating developments into benefits for patients and wider society.

Academy of Medical Sciences building

Division of Infection & Immunity Co-Director, Professor Judith Breuer, was one of 50 of the UK’s leading figures in biomedical and health sciences recently elected as an Academy of Medical Sciences Fellow.

This year Fellows were chosen from 413 candidates. Nineteen of the new Fellows are women, representing 38% of all Fellows elected in 2019, the highest percentage of women ever elected in one year. The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 26 June 2019.

Many of the new Fellows have made a contribution to medical science through outstanding leadership, public engagement and supporting the career advancement of junior trainees. This year's elected Fellows have expertise spanning global health, virology, women’s health, medical statistics, health policy, cancer genetics, allergy and emergency care medicine, among many other fields.

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent body in the UK representing the diversity of medical science. The Academy’s elected Fellows are the UK’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, industry and the public service. Its mission is to advance biomedical and health research and its translation into benefits for society.

A full list of fellows can be found on The Academy of Medical Sciences website.



Further information