Governance and compliance


Work Health and Safety Committee: membership

Information regarding the membership of the UCL Work Health and Safety Committee.

On this page you will find the details of :

Ex Officio members

Vice-President (Operations) (Convenor1)
Aimie Chapple

Director of Safety Services

Executive Director of Health and Safety
Dr Patrick Ward

Chief People Officer
Donna Dalrymple 

Head of Safety Governance and Risk
Portia Lamb

Director of Workplace Health
Max Hill

Director of Student Support and Wellbeing
Denise Long

Chair, Work Operational Health and Safety Sub-committee (and Deputy Convenor)
Ian Dancy

Chair, Chemical Safety Sub-Committee
Professor Ivan Parkin

Chair, GM and Biological Safety Sub-Committee
Dr Giulia Massaro

Chair, Fire Safety Sub-Committee
Adrien Cooper

Chair, Infrastructure Safety Sub-Committee
Adrien Cooper

Chair, Radiation Safety Sub-Committee
Dr Kerstin Sander


Appointed members

Members of staff at UCL, appointed by the committee on the recommendation of the University Management Committee:

Department of Chemistry
Dr Rob Wilson (1)

Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering
Keith Harvey (1)

Arts & Humanities and Social & Historical Sciences
Sandra Bond (1)

London Centre for Nanotechnology

Cancer Institute ​​​​​​
Sonia Buckingham (1)

Faculty of Population Health Sciences
Simon Galloway (1)

Division of Infection and Immunity
Eira Rawlings (1)

Division of Biosciences
Hayley Boakes (1)

Faculty of Brain Sciences

Faculty of the Built Environment

Office of the Vice-Provost (Research, Innovation and Global Engagement)

Media Relations
Henry Killworth (-)

Nominated members

Three Safety Representatives from the UCU, nominated by that Trade Union

  • Dr Theo Bryer (1)
  • Colin Byelong (1)
  • Dr Alun Coker (1)

Two Safety Representatives from Unison, nominated by that Trade Union

  • Joanne English (1)
  • Joanne Tapper (1)

Two Safety Representatives from Unite, nominated by that Trade Union

  • Damian Johnson (1)
  • David Ladd (1)


Three Observers, one from each of UCL's three trade unions

  • Dr Rachel Hadi-Talab (Unison) 
  • Tracy Pearmain (UCU)
  • Vacancy

Two student Observers, nominated by the Students' Union

  • Deniz Akinci
  • Muhammad Umair Mehmood


  • Jonathan Blackman

  • The Chair of the Work Health and Safety Committee is designated 'Convenor'.