Governance and compliance


Education Committee: membership

Information regarding the membership of the UCL Education Committee.

On this page you will find the details of :

Ex Officio members

Vice-Provost (Education and Student Experience) (Chair)
Professor Kathy Armour

Pro-Vice-Provost (Quality and Standards)
Professor Norbert Pachler

Pro-Vice-Provost (Student Academic Experience)
Professor Parama Chaudhury

Pro-Vice-Provost (Student Engagement)
Dr Kathryn Woods

Executive Director of Student Services and Registrar
Sarah Cowls


Director of Education Services
Zak Liddell

Director of Student Operations
Daniel Farrell

Director of UCL Insitute for Higher Education Development and Support (HEDS)
Karen Barnard

Director of Implementation and Strategy Delivery, Office of the Vice President Strategy
Ms Beatrice Addo

Director of Digital Education, Information Services Division 
Dr Fiona Strawbridge 

Head of Liaison and Support Services, Library Services
June Hedges

Students' Union Education Officer
Muhammad Shaban Chaudhary

Students' Union Equity and Inclusion Officer
Ahmad Ismail

Students' Union Postgraduate Officer
Issy Smith 

Faculty Education Leads

Arts and Humanities
Professor Arne Hofmann

Brain Sciences
Dr Julie Evans

Built Environment
Professor Aeli Roberts

UCL Institute of Education
Professor Nicola Walshe 

Engineering Sciences
Professor Simon Banks

Professor Olga Thomas

Life Sciences
Dr Hazel Smith

Mathematical and Physical Sciences
Francesca Scott

Medical Sciences
Blathnaid Mahony

Population Health Sciences
Mike Rowson

Social and Historical Sciences
[Professor Arne Hofmann]

Nominated members

One member of staff of the Finance and Business Affairs Division, nominated by the Director of Finance and Business Affairs:

  • Ian Davis (6)

One taught graduate student, nominated by the Students' Union:

  • To be confirmed

One undergraduate student, nominated by the Students' Union:

  • Manya Gupta

Elected members

Twelve members elected by and from the Academic Board:

  • Dr Margaret Mayston (1)
  • Professor Mary Richardson (1)
  • Dr Bill Sillar (1) 
  • Dr Nalini Vittal (1)
  • Professor Paola Pedarzani (2)
  • Professor Sally Day (2)
  • Dr Nicole Brown (2)
  • Professor Stan Zochowski (2)
  • Dr Sandra Leaton-Gray (-)
  • Dr Jennifer McGowan (-)
  • Professor Ann Griffin (-)
  • Dr Abel Nyamapfene (-)


  • Dr Rachel King
  • Matteo Fumagalli 


  • Ashley Doolan