XClose

The Bartlett Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis

Home
Menu

People

CASA is inherently interdisciplinary. Among its staff are physicists, planners, geographers, data scientists, architects, mathematicians and computer scientists all working on the same projects.

The centre is comprised of academic staff, research staff, professional services staff, visiting academics, honorary staff and postgraduate (Doctoral and Masters) students.


Director 

jon reades
Jonathan Reades
Professor of Geographic Data Science
Email: j.reades@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3904 (internal 53904)
@jreades


Academic Staff


Elsa Arcaute
Elsa Arcaute
Professor of Complexity Science
Email: e.arcaute@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3910 (internal 53910)
@ElsaArcaute


ollie ballinger
Ollie Ballinger
Lecturer (Teaching) in Geocomputation
Email: o.ballinger@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3676 (03676)
@oballinger


michael batty
Michael Batty
Founder & Director | 1995 – 2010
Bartlett Professor of Planning
Email: m.batty@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3874 (internal 53874)
@jmichaelbatty


huanfa chen
Huanfa Chen 
Associate Professor in Spatial Data Science and Quantitative Methods
Email: huanfa.chen@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3974 (internal 53974)
@HuanfaC


adamfinal 
Adam Dennett
Director | 2018 – 2023
Professor of Urban Analytics
Email: a.dennett@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3909 (internal 53909)
@adam_dennett


martin de jode
Martin De Jode
Lecturer in Connected Environments (Hardware)
Email: m.dejode@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2705 (internal 02705) 


Claire Dooley profile image
Claire Dooley
Lecturer (Teaching) in Spatial Data Science
Email: c.dooley@ucl.ac.uk

hannah fry
Hannah Fry
Professor in the Mathematics of Cities
Email: hannah.fry@ucl.ac.uk
@FryRsquared


steven gray
Steven Gray
Professor (Teaching) in Big Data Analytics
Departmental Graduate Tutor (Taught)
Email: steven.gray@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3886 (internal 53886)
@frogo


Duncan Hay
Duncan Hay
Associate Professor (Teaching) in Urban Science
Email: d.hay@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2714 (internal 02714)


andrew hudson smith
Andrew Hudson-Smith
Director | 2010 – 2018
Professor of Digital Urban Systems
Email: a.hudson-smith@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3875 (internal 53875)
@digitalurban


jens kandt
Jens Kandt
Associate Professor in Urban Geography and Data Science
Email: j.kandt@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3880 (internal 53880)


Andrew Mclachlan 
Andrew Maclachlan
Associate Professor in Spatial Data Science and Visualisation
Programme Director: Urban Spatial Science MSc
Careers and Alumni Liaison Officer
Email: a.maclachlan@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3907 (internal 53907)
@andymaclachlan


Max Nathan
Max Nathan
Professor of Economic Geography
Email: max.nathan@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3884 (internal 53884)
@iammaxnathan


neave o'clery
Neave O'Clery
Director of Research
Professor of Cities and Networks
Email: n.oclery@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3875 (internal 53875)
@NeaveOClery


thomas1
Thomas Oléron-Evans
Lecturer in Quantitative Methods
Departmental Graduate Tutor (Research)
Email: thomas.evans.11@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3913 (internal 53913)
@Mathistopheles


valerio signorelli 
Valerio Signorelli
Lecturer in Connected Environments (Virtual)
Email: v.signorelli@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3903 (internal 53903)
@ValeSignorelli


duncanprofile 
Duncan Smith
Associate Professor, GIS and Visualisation
Programme Director: MRes Urban Spatial Science
Email: duncan.a.smith@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3176 (internal 53176)
@citygeographics


Esra Suel
Esra Suel
Associate Professor, City Modelling
Email: e.suel@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 8138 7418 (internal 07418)


mark
Mark Tewdwr-Jones
Professor of Cities and Regions
Email: m.tewdwr-jones@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2706 (internal 02706)
@MTJProf


ducan wilson
Duncan Wilson
Director of Enterprise and Partnerships
Professor of Connected Environments
Programme Director: MSc Connected Environments
Email: d.j.wilson@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3911 (internal 53911)
@djdunc


sarah wise
Sarah Wise
Associate Professor in Agent-Based Modelling
Email: s.wise@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3904 (internal 53904)
@ComplexityWise


chen zhong  
Chen Zhong
Associate Professor in Urban Analytics
Email: c.zhong@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2708 (internal 02708) 
@Cecile_zhong


Professional Services Staff


Riska Beer
Finance, HR and Research Administrator
Email: r.beer@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 3820 (internal 53820)


Kavita Chopra
Centre Administrator
Email: kavita.chopra@ucl.ac.uk
Internal tel: 08140


Van Anh Dang
Marketing Officer (BSA, BSSC, CASA, UL)
Email: v.dang@ucl.ac.uk


Susan Francis
Department Manager
Email: s.francis@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3876 (internal 53876)


Simon Gosling
Connected Environments Technician
Email: simon.gosling@ucl.ac.uk


Srijana Gurung
Senior Communications and Publications Manager (BSA, UL, CASA) 
Email: srijana.gurung@ucl.ac.uk


Desart Ismaili (secondment cover)
Outreach Manager (BSA, BSSC, CASA, UL)
Email: desart.ismaili.18@ucl.ac.uk


Kemi Hassan (on secondment)
Outreach Manager (BSA, BSSC, CASA, UL)
Email: oluwakemi.hassan@ucl.ac.uk


Mohammod Hussain
Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator
Contact CASA Teaching: casa-teaching@ucl.ac.uk
Email: mohammod.hussain@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3327 (internal 53327)


Abi Luter
Events Officer (BSA, UL, CASA) 
Email: a.luter@ucl.ac.uk


Hannah Maguire (on maternity leave)
Senior Marketing Manager (BSA, BSSC, CASA, UL)
Email: h-maguire@ucl.ac.uk


Joe McGrath (maternity cover)
Senior Marketing Manager (BSA, BSSC, CASA, UL)
Email: joseph.mcgrath@ucl.ac.uk


Yossie Olaleye
Communications Manager (BSA, UL, CASA) 
Email: y.olaleye@ucl.ac.uk


Sandra Starosta
Finance & HR Administrator
Email: s.starosta@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2316


Afroditi Tampakopoulou
Teaching and Learning Administrator
Contact CASA Teaching
Email: afroditi.tampakopoulou.20@ucl.ac.uk
Internal tel: 51899


Kasia Tomczyk
Research Manager
Email: k.tomczyk@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 4007 (internal 54007)


Carol Trent
Teaching & Learning Manager
Contact CASA Teaching: casa-teaching@ucl.ac.uk
Email: c.trent@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3902 (internal 53902)


Gen Williams
Communications Officer (BSA, UL, CASA) 
Email: g-williams@ucl.ac.uk


Research Staff


Dr Nil Sari Aslam
Research Fellow in Urban Mobility and Inequality
Email: n.aslam.11@ucl.ac.uk


Cate Heine 
Research Fellow in Urban Mobility and Inequality
Email: cate.heine@ucl.ac.uk


Fulvio Lopane
Research Fellow (HARMONY)
Email: f.lopane@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2709 (internal 02709)
@fulviolopane


Leah Lovett
Research Fellow (Impact, Engagement and Outreach)
Email: l.lovett@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2710 (internal 02710)
@leahlovett


Jack Shiels
Research Fellow: Improving TRUST in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Critical Building Management
Email: jack.shiels.22@ucl.ac.uk


Robert Manning Smith
Research Fellow in Agent-based Modelling for Ebola Risk Reduction 
Email: robbie.smith@ucl.ac.uk


Richard Milton
Senior Research Fellow (QUANT)
Email: richard.milton@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3108 3885 (internal 53885)


Dr Guido Pialli
Research Fellow (Economist)  
Email: g.pialli@ucl.ac.uk


Mr Mateo Sere 
Research Assistant / Research Fellow (Computational Social Scientist)  
Email: m.sere@ucl.ac.uk


Staff associated with CASA


Boyana Buyuklieva
Research Fellow (OS funded) - UCL Department of Information Studies
Email: boyana.buyuklieva@ucl.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)20 3987 2725 (internal 02725)
@Bonnie_0000