XClose

Institute of Archaeology

Home
Menu

Academic and Research Staff

Academic and research staff details are given on this page. The majority of staff are hybrid working in response to Covid-19 and should be contacted via their email address.

Academic and research staff at the Institute

NamePositionContact

Sue Hamilton PhD

Professor of Prehistory and Director of the Institute of Archaeology

Room 208, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
+44 (0)20 7679 7483
ioa-director@ucl.ac.uk

Mark Altaweel PhDReader in Near East Archaeology
 
Room 103, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4607 (x24607)
m.altaweel@ucl.ac.uk
Georgia Andreou PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Near East ArchaeologyRoom 103, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2839 (x52839)
g.andreou@ucl.ac.uk
Manuel Arroyo-Kalin PhDAssociate Professor in Geoarchaeology Room 401, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7523 (x27523)
m.arroyo-kalin@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Bevan PhDProfessor of Spatial and Comparative ArchaeologyRoom 108, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1528 (x21528)
a.bevan@ucl.ac.uk
Martin Bridge PhDLecturer in DendrochronologyRoom G1A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1540 (x21540)
martin.bridge@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart Brookes PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Medieval ArchaeologyRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7490 (x27490)
s.brookes@ucl.ac.uk

Beverley Butler PhD

Reader in Cultural Heritage Room 503, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4741 (x24741)
beverley.butler@ucl.ac.uk
Ian Carroll MALecturer (Teaching)/Collections ManagerRoom 203a, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4789 (x24789)
i.carroll@ucl.ac.uk
Michael Charlton PhD Lecturer in ArchaeomaterialsRoom 210, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4963 (x24963)
m.charlton@ucl.ac.uk
J. Andrew Dufton PhDAHRC Research Fellow in GIS and Landscape Archaeology of North AfricaRoom 206, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2856 (x52856)
a.dufton@ucl.ac.uk
Corisande Fenwick PhDAssociate Professor in Mediterranean Archaeology
On Research Leave: ERC research award to December 2025
 
Room 502, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4746 (x24746)
c.fenwick@ucl.ac.uk
Ian Freestone PhDProfessor of Archaeological Materials and TechnologyRoom 210, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7498 (x27498)
i.freestone@ucl.ac.uk
Delphine Fremondeau PhDLeverhulme Trust Research FellowRoom 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2842 (x52842)
d.fremondeau@ucl.ac.uk
Dorian Fuller PhDProfessor of ArchaeobotanyRoom 311, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4771 (x24771)
d.fuller@ucl.ac.uk
Francesca Fulminante PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Iron Age Mediterranean ArchaeologyRoom 406, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
f.fulminante@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Gardner PhDSenior Lecturer in the Archaeology of the Roman EmpireRoom 402, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4740 (x24740)
andrew.gardner@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Garrard PhDReader in Early PrehistoryRoom 408, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4764 (x24764)
a.garrard@ucl.ac.uk
Elizabeth Graham PhDProfessor of Meosamerican ArchaeologyRoom 614, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7532 (x27532)
e.graham@ucl.ac.uk
Barnabas Harris PhDLeverhulme Trust Research FellowRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
barnabas.harris.14@ucl.ac.uk
Rodney Harrison PhDProfessor of Heritage Studies
On Sabbatical: January-December 2022
Room 605, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1041 (x21041)
r.harrison@ucl.ac.uk
Brenna Hassett PhDAHRC Researcher Co-InvestigatorRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1511 (x21511)
b.hassett@ucl.ac.uk
Katie Hemer PhDLecturer in Bioarchaeology and Forensic AnthropologyRoom 301, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 4537 (x54537)
k.hemer@ucl.ac.uk
Simon Hillson PhDProfessor of BioarchaeologyRoom 312, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4784 (x24784)
simon.hillson@ucl.ac.uk
Hallvard R. Indgjerd PhDERC Research Fellow in GIS and Spatial Archaeology31-34 Gordon Sq.
hallvard.indgjerd@ucl.ac.uk
Gai Jorayev PhDCentre for Applied Archaeology Project Manager and Research FellowRoom 405F, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
0207 679 4743 (x24743)
g.jorayev@ucl.ac.uk
Rachel King DPhil

Lecturer in Cultural Heritage Studies
 

Room 202, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7507 (x27507)
rachel-king@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Lake PhDProfessor of Computational ArchaeologyRoom 115, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1535 (x21535)
mark.lake@ucl.ac.uk
Borja Legarra Herrero PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Comparative Mediterranean PrehistoryRoom 106, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1539 (x21539)
b.legarra@ucl.ac.uk
Kris Lockyear PhDSenior Lecturer in Archaeology
 
Room 204C, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4568 (x24568)
k.lockyear@ucl.ac.uk
Kevin MacDonald PhDProfessor of African ArchaeologyRoom 114, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1534 (x21534)
kevin.macdonald@ucl.ac.uk
Richard Macphail PhDSenior Research FellowRoom 305, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4760 (x24760)
r.macphail@ucl.ac.uk
Louise Martin PhDReader in Zooarchaeology
 
Room 303, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4769 (x24769)
louise.martin@ucl.ac.uk
Sada Mire PhDAssociate Professor in Heritage StudiesRoom 605, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 4535 (x54535)
sada.mire@ucl.ac.uk
Eva Mol PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Classical Art and ArchaeologyRoom 105, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1525 (x21525)
e.mol@ucl.ac.uk
Gabriel Moshenska PhDAssociate Professor in Public Archaeology
 
Room 322A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7510 (x27510)
g.moshenska@ucl.ac.uk
Theano Moussouri PhDAssociate Professor in Museum Studies
 
Room 405b, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4938 (x24938)
t.moussouri@ucl.ac.uk
Claudia Naeser DPhilLecturer in Egyptian Archaeology
 
Room 113, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1533 (x21533)
c.naeser@ucl.ac.uk
Marco Nebbia PhDResearch FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7496 (x27496)
m.nebbia@ucl.ac.uk
Eloise Noc PhD

Research Fellow in African Heritage, Remote Sensing & GIS

Room 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
e.noc@ucl.ac.uk
Caitlin O'Grady PhDLecturer in ConservationRoom 203, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7487 (x27487)
caitlin.r.ogrady@ucl.ac.uk
José Oliver PhDReader in Latin American ArchaeologyRoom 104, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1524 (x21524)
j.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
Simon Parfitt BScPrincipal Research Fellow31-34 Gordon Sq.
Currently based at the NHM
s.parfitt@ucl.ac.uk
Mike Parker Pearson PhDProfessor of British Later Prehistory
 
Room 310, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4767 (x24767)
m.parker-pearson@ucl.ac.uk
Dominic Perring PhDCentre of Applied Archaeology/Archaeology South-East, Director & Professorial Research FellowRoom 413, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4778 (x24778)
d.perring@ucl.ac.uk
Renata Peters PhDAssociate Professor in Conservation of Archaeological ArtefactsRoom 107, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 5583 (x25583)
m.peters@ucl.ac.uk
Matthew Pope PhDPrincipal Research Fellow in Palaeolithic Archaeology31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7495 (x27495)
m.pope@ucl.ac.uk
Patrick Quinn PhDPrincipal Research Fellow in Ceramic PetrographyRoom B17, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 5595 (x25595)
patrick.quinn@ucl.ac.uk
Stephen Quirke PhDProfessor of EgyptologyRoom 409, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1526 (x21526)
s.quirke@ucl.ac.uk
Miljana Radivojevic PhDLecturer in Archaeomaterials31-34 Gordon Sq.
m.radivojevic@ucl.ac.uk
Carolyn Rando PhDAssociate Professor in Bioarchaeology and Forensic AnthropologyRoom 312, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7484 (x27484)
c.rando@ucl.ac.uk
Hazel Reade PhDLeverhulme Trust Senior Research FellowRoom 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1530 (x21530)
h.reade@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Reid PhDSenior Lecturer in Eastern African ArchaeologyRoom 111, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1531 (x21531)
a.reid@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Reynolds PhDProfessor of Medieval ArchaeologyRoom 205, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1522 (x21522)
a.reynolds@ucl.ac.uk
Corinna Riva PhDAssociate Professor in Mediterranean Archaeology
On Research Leave: University of Erfurt Max Weber Kolleg Research Fellowship, 2021-22
 
Room 406, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7536 (x27536)
c.riva@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Roberts BAPrincipal Research FellowRoom 307, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7535 (x27535)
mark.roberts@ucl.ac.uk
Jill Saunders MScAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in ConservationRoom 201, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4728 (x24728)
jill.saunders.09@ucl.ac.uk
Tim Schadla-Hall MAReader in Public ArchaeologyRoom 607, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4924 (x24924)
t.schadla-hall@ucl.ac.uk
Julia Shaw PhDAssociate Professor in South Asian ArchaeologyRoom 407A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4753 (x24753)
julia.shaw@ucl.ac.uk
Stephen Shennan PhDProfessor of Theoretical ArchaeologyRoom 407, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4739 (x24739)
s.shennan@ucl.ac.uk
Ceri Shipton PhDLecturer in Palaeolithic Archaeology31-34 Gordon Sq.
c.shipton@ucl.ac.uk
Bill Sillar PhDProfessor of Archaeology and Technology in SocietyRoom B16, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1538 (x21538)
b.sillar@ucl.ac.uk
Ulrike Sommer PhD

Senior Lecturer in Prehistoric Archaeology
On Sabbatical: 2021-22

Room 409A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1493 (x21493)
u.sommer@ucl.ac.uk
Rachael Sparks PhDAssociate Professor/Keeper of Museum CollectionsRoom B55, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1529 (x21529)
r.sparks@ucl.ac.uk
Robert Staniuk PhDERC Research FellowRoom 613, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
r.staniuk@ucl.ac.uk
James Steele PhDProfessor of ArchaeologyRoom 604, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4773 (x24773)
j.steele@ucl.ac.uk
Rhiannon Stevens DPhilAssociate Professor in Archaeological ScienceRoom 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1530 (x21530)
rhiannon.stevens@ucl.ac.uk
Alice Stevenson PhDAssociate Professor in Museum StudiesRoom 102, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4935 (x24935)
alice.stevenson@ucl.ac.uk
Dean Sully PhDAssociate Professor in ConservationRoom 403a, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7497 (x27497)
d.sully@ucl.ac.uk
Jeremy Tanner PhDProfessor of Classical and Comparative Art
On Research Leave: Leverhulme Trust Major Research Fellowship, 2019-22
Room 105, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1525 (x21525)
j.tanner@ucl.ac.uk
Kimberley Te Winkle PhDResearch FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7496 (x27496)
k.tewinkle@ucl.ac.uk
Ona Vileikis Tamayo PhDResearch FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7496 (x27496)
o.vileikis@ucl.ac.uk
Rebecca Watts PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Bioarchaeology and Forensic AnthropologyRoom 301, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7484 (x27484)
r.watts@ucl.ac.uk
David Wengrow DPhilProfessor of Comparative ArchaeologyRoom 601, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4720 (x24720)
d.wengrow@ucl.ac.uk
Todd Whitelaw PhDProfessor of Aegean Archaeology
 
Room 207, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7534 (x27534)
t.whitelaw@ucl.ac.uk
Tim Williams BAProfessor of Silk Roads ArchaeologyRoom 602, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4722 (x24722)
tim.d.williams@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Wordsworth PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Islamic ArchaeologyRoom 602, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2857 (x52857)
paul.wordsworth@ucl.ac.uk
Sally Worrell MAPrehistoric and Roman Finds Advisor, Portable Antiquities SchemeRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4790 (x24790)
s.worrell@ucl.ac.uk
Katherine Wright PhDAssociate Professor in ArchaeologyRoom 101, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4715 (x24715)
k.wright@ucl.ac.uk
Yijie Zhuang PhDAssociate Professor in Chinese Archaeology
 
Room 106, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1539 (x21539)
y.zhuang@ucl.ac.uk