XClose

Institute of Archaeology

Home
Menu

Academic and Research Staff

Academic and research staff details are given on this page. Many staff are hybrid working at this time and should be contacted via their email address or MSTeams in the first instance.

Academic and postdoctoral research staff at the Institute

NamePositionContact

Kevin MacDonald PhD

Professor of African Archaeology and Director of the Institute of Archaeology

Room 208, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
+44 (0)20 7679 7483 (x27483)
ioa-director@ucl.ac.uk

Heba Abd El GawadAHRC Research Fellow31-34 Gordon Sq.
heba.abdelgawad@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Altaweel PhDProfessor of Near East Archaeology and Archaeological Data Science
 
Room 103, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4607 (x24607)
m.altaweel@ucl.ac.uk
Georgia Andreou PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Near East ArchaeologyRoom 103, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2839 (x52839)
g.andreou@ucl.ac.uk
Murray Andrews PhDLecturer in British ArchaeologyRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3987 2992 
m.j.andrews@ucl.ac.uk
Manuel Arroyo-Kalin PhDAssociate Professor in Geoarchaeology 
 
Room 401, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7523 (x27523)
m.arroyo-kalin@ucl.ac.uk
Nadia Bartolini PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Cultural Heritage Studies

Room 202, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 4976 (x54976)
n.bartolini@ucl.ac.uk

Andrew Bevan PhDProfessor of Spatial and Comparative ArchaeologyRoom 108, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1528 (x21528)
a.bevan@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart Brookes PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Medieval ArchaeologyRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7490 (x27490)
s.brookes@ucl.ac.uk

Beverley Butler PhD

Professor of Cultural Heritage and Memory StudiesRoom 503, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4741 (x24741)
beverley.butler@ucl.ac.uk
Tessa Campbell PhDResearch Fellow in Bioarchaeology and Heritagetessa.campbell@ucl.ac.uk
Ian Carroll MALecturer (Teaching) and Collections ManagerRoom 203a, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4789 (x24789)
i.carroll@ucl.ac.uk
Cristina Castillo PhDNERC Research FellowRoom 313, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 5830 (x55830)
cristina.castillo@ucl.ac.uk
Michael Charlton PhD Lecturer in ArchaeomaterialsRoom 210, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4963 (x24963)
m.charlton@ucl.ac.uk
Patrick Cuthbertson DPhilResearch FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3987 2989
p.cuthbertson@ucl.ac.uk
Corisande Fenwick PhDProfessor of Late Antique and Islamic Archaeology
On Research Leave: ERC research award to December 2025
 
Room 502, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4746 (x24746)
c.fenwick@ucl.ac.uk
Giacomo Fontana PhDAHRC Research FellowRoom 613, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
giacomo.fontana.19@ucl.ac.uk
Delphine Fremondeau PhDLeverhulme Trust Research FellowRoom 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2842 (x52842)
d.fremondeau@ucl.ac.uk
Dorian Fuller PhDProfessor of ArchaeobotanyRoom 311, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4771 (x24771)
d.fuller@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Gardner PhDProfessor of the Archaeology of the Roman EmpireRoom 402, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4740 (x24740)
andrew.gardner@ucl.ac.uk
Sue Hamilton PhDProfessor of Prehistory
 
Room 207, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
s.hamilton@ucl.ac.uk
Rodney Harrison PhDProfessor of Heritage Studies
 
Room 605, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1041 (x21041)
r.harrison@ucl.ac.uk
Katie Hemer PhDAssociate Professor in Bioarchaeology and Forensic AnthropologyRoom 301, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 4537 (x54537)
k.hemer@ucl.ac.uk
Gai Jorayev PhDSenior Research FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
0207 679 4743 (x24743)
g.jorayev@ucl.ac.uk
Rachel King DPhil

Associate Professor in Cultural Heritage Studies

 

Room 202, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7507 (x27507)
rachel-king@ucl.ac.uk
Jan Kolar PhDERC Research FellowRoom 613, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3987 2411 (x02411)
tcrnkol@ucl.ac.uk
Mark Lake PhDProfessor of Computational ArchaeologyRoom 115, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1535 (x21535)
mark.lake@ucl.ac.uk
Borja Legarra Herrero PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Comparative Mediterranean PrehistoryRoom 106, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1539 (x21539)
b.legarra@ucl.ac.uk
Xiuzhen Li PhDAHRC Principal Research FellowRoom 108, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7531 (x27531)
xiuzhen.li@ucl.ac.uk
Kris Lockyear PhDSenior Lecturer in Archaeology
 
Room 204C, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4568 (x24568)
k.lockyear@ucl.ac.uk
Louise Martin PhDProfessor of Zooarchaeology
 
Room 303, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4769 (x24769)
louise.martin@ucl.ac.uk
Sada Mire PhDAssociate Professor in Heritage Studies (UCL East)sada.mire@ucl.ac.uk
Gabriel Moshenska PhDAssociate Professor in Public Archaeology
 
Room 322A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7510 (x27510)
g.moshenska@ucl.ac.uk
Theano Moussouri PhDProfessor of Museum Studies
 
Room 405b, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4938 (x24938)
t.moussouri@ucl.ac.uk
Claudia Naeser DPhilAssociate Professor in Egyptian Archaeology
 
Room 113, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1533 (x21533)
c.naeser@ucl.ac.uk
Marco Nebbia PhDResearch FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7496 (x27496)
m.nebbia@ucl.ac.uk
Veronica Occari PhDAHRC Research FellowRoom 206, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
veronica.occari.16@ucl.ac.uk
José Oliver PhDReader in Latin American ArchaeologyRoom 104, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1524 (x21524)
j.oliver@ucl.ac.uk
Rui Pang Research FellowRoom 112, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
rui.pang@ucl.ac.uk
Simon Parfitt BScPrincipal Research Fellow31-34 Gordon Sq.
Currently based at the NHM
s.parfitt@ucl.ac.uk
Mike Parker Pearson PhDProfessor of British Later Prehistory
 
Room 310, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4767 (x24767)
m.parker-pearson@ucl.ac.uk
Sara Perry PhDAssciate Professor in Digital Public ArchaeologyRoom 408, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
0203 108 1692 (x51692)
tcrnsp4@ucl.ac.uk
Renata Peters PhDAssociate Professor in Conservation of Archaeological Artefacts
On Sabbatical: 2023-24 academic year
Room 107, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 5583 (x25583)
m.peters@ucl.ac.uk
Matthew Pope PhDAssociate Professor (Teaching) in Palaeolithic Archaeology and Principal Research FellowRoom 305, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7495 (x27495)
m.pope@ucl.ac.uk
Patrick Quinn PhDPrincipal Research Fellow Room B17, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 5595 (x25595)
patrick.quinn@ucl.ac.uk
Stephen Quirke PhDProfessor of Egyptian ArchaeologyRoom 409, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1526 (x21526)
s.quirke@ucl.ac.uk
Miljana Radivojevic PhDAssociate Professor in Archaeological Sciencem.radivojevic@ucl.ac.uk
Carolyn Rando PhDAssociate Professor in Bioarchaeology and Forensic Anthropology
 
Room 312, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7484 (x27484)
c.rando@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Reid PhDSenior Lecturer in Eastern African ArchaeologyRoom 111, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1531 (x21531)
a.reid@ucl.ac.uk
Andrew Reynolds PhDProfessor of Medieval ArchaeologyRoom 205, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1522 (x21522)
a.reynolds@ucl.ac.uk
Corinna Riva PhDAssociate Professor in Mediterranean Archaeology

 
Room 406, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7536 (x27536)
c.riva@ucl.ac.uk
Viva Sacco PhDBritish Academy International FellowRoom 206, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 9371
v.sacco@ucl.ac.uk
Jill Saunders PhDLecturer (Teaching) in ConservationRoom 201, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4728 (x24728)
jill.saunders.09@ucl.ac.uk
Julia Shaw PhDAssociate Professor in South Asian Archaeology
 
Room 407A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4753 (x24753)
julia.shaw@ucl.ac.uk
Stephen Shennan PhDProfessor of Theoretical ArchaeologyRoom 407, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4739 (x24739)
s.shennan@ucl.ac.uk
Ceri Shipton PhDLecturer in Palaeolithic ArchaeologyRoom B21, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4941 (x24941)
c.shipton@ucl.ac.uk
Bill Sillar PhDProfessor of Archaeology and Technology in Society
 
Room B16, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1538 (x21538)
b.sillar@ucl.ac.uk
Anna Simandiraki-Grimshaw PhDResearch FellowRoom 408, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 5106 
a.simandiraki-grimshaw@ucl.ac.uk
Geoff Smith PhDAssociate Lecturer (Teaching) in Biomolecular Archaeology

Room 614, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
tcrngsm@ucl.ac.uk

Ulrike Sommer PhD

Senior Lecturer in Prehistoric Archaeology
 

Room 409A, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1493 (x21493)
u.sommer@ucl.ac.uk
Rachael Sparks PhDAssociate Professor and Keeper of CollectionsRoom B55, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1529 (x21529)
r.sparks@ucl.ac.uk
Robert Staniuk PhDERC Research FellowRoom 613, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3987 2409 (x02409)
r.staniuk@ucl.ac.uk
Rhiannon Stevens DPhilAssociate Professor in Archaeological ScienceRoom 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1530 (x21530)
rhiannon.stevens@ucl.ac.uk
Alice Stevenson PhDProfessor of Museum Archaeology
 
Room 102, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4935 (x24935)
alice.stevenson@ucl.ac.uk
Dean Sully PhDAssociate Professor in ConservationRoom 403a, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7497 (x27497)
d.sully@ucl.ac.uk
Jeremy Tanner PhDProfessor of Classical and Comparative Art
 
Room 105, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1525 (x21525)
j.tanner@ucl.ac.uk
Rebecca Watts PhDLecturer (Teaching) in Bioarchaeology and Forensic AnthropologyRoom 301, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7484 (x27484)
r.watts@ucl.ac.uk
David Wengrow DPhilProfessor of Comparative Archaeology
On Sabbatical: 2023-24 academic year
Room 601, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4720 (x24720)
d.wengrow@ucl.ac.uk
Sarah Wexler PhDNERC Research Fellow Room 110, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7501 (x27501)
s.wexler@ucl.ac.uk
Todd Whitelaw PhDProfessor of Aegean Archaeology
 
Room 207, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 7534 (x27534)
t.whitelaw@ucl.ac.uk
Alice Williams DPhilAHRC Research Fellow31-34 Gordon Sq.
alice.williams@ucl.ac.uk
Paul Wordsworth PhDLecturer in Silk Roads Archaeology and HeritageRoom 602, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3108 2857 (x52857)
paul.wordsworth@ucl.ac.uk
Sally Worrell MAPrehistoric and Roman Finds Advisor, Portable Antiquities SchemeRoom 411, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 4790 (x24790)
s.worrell@ucl.ac.uk
Johanna Zetterstrom Sharp PhDAssociate Professor in Heritage Studies (UCL East)Room 607, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 3987 2142 (x02142)
j.zetterstrom-sharp@ucl.ac.uk
Yijie Zhuang PhDAssociate Professor in Chinese Archaeology
 
Room 106, 31-34 Gordon Sq.
020 7679 1539 (x21539)
y.zhuang@ucl.ac.uk