UCL Department of Physics and Astronomy

Professor Giovanna Tinetti

Professor Giovanna Tinetti

Professor of Astrophysics

Dept of Physics & Astronomy

Faculty of Maths & Physical Sciences

Joined UCL
18th Jun 2007

Research summary

Giovanna Tinetti is Professor of Astrophysics at University College London and Director of the new UCL Centre for Space Exoplanet Data at Harwell.

She is the Principal Investigator of ARIEL, the European Space Agency's next medium-class (M4) science mission. She is also co-founder and co-director of Blue Skies Space Ltd, which aims at creating new opportunities for science space satellites.

Select appointments and achievements include Principal Investigator of the European Research Council-funded program Exo-Lights, and Institute of Physics Moseley medal 2011.

Awarded a PhD in Theoretical Physics from the University of Turin in Italy, Giovanna Tinetti has continued her academic career as NASA Astrobiology Institute fellow at Caltech/JPL and then as European Space Agency external fellow in Paris, before moving to UCL in 2007 as STFC Aurora and then Royal Society URF Fellow.

Teaching summary

Currently teaching Physics of Exoplanets, PHAS0068 (PHASM/G337) 

Teaching experience, more here:  http://giotin.org/pages/teaching.html


Universita degli Studi di Torino
, |
Universita degli Studi di Torino
, | 2003
Politecnico di Torino
, | 1999


PhD in Theoretical Physics from University of Turin, she has coordinated at UCL a team on exoplanets since 2007. Royal Society University Research Fellow 2009-present. ESA external fellow 2005-2007, NASA Astrobiology Institute/NRC fellow at Caltech/JPL 2003-2005, Predoc and Postdoc at Caltech and University of Southern California, 2001-2003.

Select appointments and achievements:
- Director UCL Centre for Space Exoplanet Data at Harwell
- Principal Investigator, ARIEL (ESA M4 mission) payload consortium, June 2015-present
- Science lead, Twinkle space mission, June 2014-present
- Principal Investigator, ERC-funded programme "Exo-Lights", 2014-2019.
- Principal Investigator EChO (ESA M3 candidate mission) payload consortium, 2011-2014. 
- Editor of American Astronomical Society DPS journal, ICARUS. 
- Counts over 100 peer reviewed publications and over 150 invited talks/seminars on exoplanets. 

Select awards: 
- Institute of Physics Moseley medal 2011 for pioneering use of IR transmission spectroscopy for molecular detection in exoplanet atmospheres. 
- 2010 NASA Group Achievement award with Swain and Vasisht for first detection of methane in an exoplanet.

Recent appointments in advisory boards: 
- Hubble/Spitzer panel chair/TAC member
- ESO Espresso Instrument Science Team, 
- ESA Exoplanet Roadmap Advisory Team (2009-2010).