UCL News


UCL awarded seven Future Leaders Fellowships

13 May 2020

Seven UCL academics have been awarded UKRI Future Leaders fellowships, and will receive government investment to support their research.

Seven UCL researchers

Seven UCL academics have been named by the government as recipients of prestigious UKRI Future Leaders fellowships, which are designed to identify and nurture the research leaders of tomorrow and support them in their academic careers. The scheme is designed to offer longer-term support to enable researchers to explore complex problems and establish new research teams. UCL has so far been awarded 23 fellowships, the highest number of any institution.

Professor David Price, UCL Vice-Provost (Research), said: “Recruiting and retaining the best academic talent is integral to UCL’s commitment to research excellence, and, through the Future Leaders scheme we are able to nurture the research leaders of tomorrow. I’d like to extend my warmest congratulations to the successful applicants, and also to the research coordination and facilitation teams, whose support has been a crucial factor in making UCL the most successful participant in the scheme to date.”

The seven UCL academics are:

  • Dr Midhat Talibi  (UCL Mechanical Engineering)
  • Dr Elly Martin (UCL Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering)
  • Dr John Hales (UCL Biochemical Engineering)
  • Dr Sarah Wise (UCL Centre for Advanced Spatial Analysis)
  • Dr Marco Palombo (UCL Centre for Medical Imaging Computing)
  • Dr Pearse Keane (UCL Institute of Opthalmology)
  • Dr Selena Nemorin (UCL Institute of Education)