UCL Faculty of Laws


Law with Another Legal System (Australia, Singapore, Hong Kong)

After successfully completing the first year of the LLB Law programme you may wish to apply to transfer to the LLB Law with Another Legal System (Australia, Singapore or Hong Kong)

This four-year programme will allow you to spend your first two years of study at UCL, the third year studying law overseas in Australia, Singapore or Hong Kong and the fourth and final year completing your studies at UCL. Application is based on academic merit.

The programme is assessed on the basis of all four years of study, but the award of honours is based on your assessments in the second and fourth years only. To be awarded the full degree, you must pass all four years in and in the third year, you will be assessed according to the regulations of the overseas university where you are studying.

Tuition fees are paid to UCL for all four years of study (although this is reduced for the third year) and no tuition fees are paid to the overseas university.

Please note: this programme is not available to apply to through UCAS.

Year 1

Prior to the start of teaching, you will be required to complete our two-week induction programme: Laws' Connections: Legal Doctrine and Contemporary Challenges.

Laws' Connections is designed to be an inspiring introduction to the study of law here at UCL Laws, and to the role of law in addressing social challenges. It has two elements:

  1. Introduction to the Study of Law
  2. Case Studies

Students will each take two case studies in their first two weeks at UCL on subjects such as climate change, homelessness, the gig economy, medical accidents and the family home.  In the case studies, we shall think hard about the role of lawyers and law in addressing significant social problems and introduce some important legal ideas and concepts, and also some important legal skills. You shall also of course get to know the people you will be studying with for the coming years.

You will then take four compulsory modules during year one of the programme:

  • Contract Law
  • Criminal Law
  • Property Law I
  • Public Law
Year 2

During year two of the programme, you will take four compulsory modules:

  • European Union Law
  • Jurisprudence and Legal Theory
  • Property Law II
  • Tort Law
Year 3

If you are studying on the LLB Law programme you will be able to apply to transfer to LLB Law with Another Legal System at the beginning of your year two. By applying to this programme, you will have the opportunity to complete your third year of study at either the University of New South Wales in Australia, the National University of Singapore (NUS), or Hong Kong University (HKU).

If you are successful, you will be provided with information to help you prepare for your year abroad, including information and resources concerning financial considerations, passports and visas, the availability of private accommodation, local education authority documentation, travel arrangements, and insurance.

The overseas university will also send you information regarding term dates, student registration, and enrolment. Throughout year two, you will also have opportunities to meet returning fourth-year students who have completed their year abroad and with current visiting students from overseas universities.

University of New South Wales

A typical course of study consists of approved modules taken over two semesters, from which you must obtain a minimum of 48 credits.

Visit the University of New South Wales website for further details

National University of Singapore

You will spend year three at the National University of Singapore studying Singapore law.

Visit the National University of Singapore website for further details

Hong Kong University

A course at HKU usually has 6 HKU credits. A normal load is 30 credits for one semester (60 credits for a year) but you might also take a minimum of 24 credits to a maximum of 36 credits each semester, subject to the approval of the Dean/Head of the Department. (For Faculty of Business and Economics, the minimum and maximum credits is 6 and 30 respectively.)

Visit the HKU website for further details.

Year 4

During year four of the programme, you will be able to choose four optional modules. The modules available may include:

  • Access to Justice and Community Engagement
  • Administrative Law
  • Advanced Contract Law
  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Commercial Law
  • Company Law
  • Conflict of Laws
  • Criminal Processes
  • Criminology
  • Employment Law
  • Environmental Law
  • Family Law
  • Health Care Law
  • History of English Law
  • Human Rights in the UK
  • Intellectual Property Law
  • Introduction to Competition Law and Consumer Protection
  • Law and Social Inquiry
  • Law of Taxation
  • Law, Innovation and Public Policy
  • Philosophical Foundations of the Common Law
  • Public International Law
  • Research Essay
  • Roman Law
  • Unjust Enrichment