The Laidlaw Research and Leadership Programme


Scholars 2024

These students gained their places on the programme against fierce competition: 267 applications were made for 30 Laidlaw scholarships

The 2024 cohort of Laidlaw Scholars were chosen for outstanding leadership and academic potential.

The eighth cohort of Laidlaw Scholars has at least one scholar from each UCL faculty.

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Samuel Acosta-Fernandez

BASc Arts and Sciences

Gustavo Alves de Albuquerque

BA History, Politics and Economics

Ryem Khanin

BA Politics, Sociology and East European Studies

Teresa Li

BA English

Sara Romai

BA Politics, Sociology and East European Studies

Jessie Wong

BASc Arts and Sciences

Bartlett Faculty of the Built Environment

Kyiga Wilberforce

BSc Architectural and Interdisciplinary Studies

Faculty of Brain Sciences

Cheryl Leong

MSci Psychology

Faculty of Engineering

Asaph Dworkin

MEng Electronic and Electrical Engineering

Aishani Sinha

MEng Computer Science

Agnese Venezia

BEng Biochemical Engineering 

UCL Institute of Education

Ivy Wang

BA Education Studies

Hebe Yang

BA Education Studies

Faculty of Law

Anoushka Kaur Ichpanani


Muhammad Mahmoud


Vivian Jade Yee


Faculty of Life Sciences

Amanda  Andersson 

BSc Neuroscience

Diya Asawa

BSc Biomedical Sciences

Celine Tedja

BSc Biochemistry

Eoin Williams

MSci Neuroscience

Faculty of Mechanical and Physical Sciences

Matthew Brook

BA Geography

Zar Rehman

BSc Theoretical Physics 

Gabrielle Pengyu Shao

BA Geography

Faculty of Medicine

Lizzie Fu


Namir Khalil


Faculty of Population Health Sciences

Badria Abdi

MSc Population Health Sciences with Data Science

Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences

Ella Barry

BSc Economics

Robert Delaney

BA History

Lucia Figueras Pont

BA Anthropology

Anjali Raman-Middleton

BSc Politics and International Relations