Information Services Division


Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 come into effect

22 November 2023

As Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.2 come into effect, find out more about the implications for your web content, from UCL Digital Accessibility team.

WCAG 2.2 is officially the latest version of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines since it was published as a W3C Recommendation by the Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (AG WG) on 5 October 2023.

There are six new criteria to meet: 

  • 3.2.6 Consistent Help (A)
  • 3.3.7 Redundant Entry (A)
  • 2.4.11 Focus Not Obscured (Minimum) (AA)
  • 2.5.7 Dragging Movements (AA)
  • 2.5.8 Target Size (Minimum) (AA)
  • 3.3.8 Accessible Authentication (AA). 

As WCAG 2.2 comes into effect, it automatically becomes the standard that is expected for public sector websites and mobile apps. However, as all organisations will need some time to check their sites and apps, see if they meet the new standard, and make any fixes needed, the Government Digital Service (GDS) will start monitoring for the new WCAG 2.2 criteria in early 2024. 

All mentions of WCAG 2.1, that are not related to a specific accessibility statement have now been updated to WCAG 2.2. New audits and re-audits will be tested to WCAG 2.2 (AA) standard.  

If you have any questions, or would like support in updating your accessibility statement, please email the Digital Accessibility team at digitalaccessibility@ucl.ac.uk

Further guidance and support: