XClose

UCL Institute of Ophthalmology

Home
Menu

Equality, diversity and inclusion at the IoO

While much work has been done to advance equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) at the Institute, some persistent challenges remain and contemporary developments can impact progress.

The Equality Challenge team has been established to promote and enhance EDI across the Institute of Ophthalmology to benefit all staff and students. As the name suggests, we recognise the challenge of developing a fair society. By fostering a positive environment and offering equality of opportunity, we enable staff and students to flourish and fulfil their potential.

We recognise that enacting cultural change requires commitment and action from everyone at all levels. For this reason, our team is diverse, representing staff at all levels of seniority. To contact the team, please email ioo-equality@ucl.ac.uk

Meet the team

Tessa Dekker

Co-Chair
Research Fellow
t.dekker@ucl.ac.uk

Tim Levine

Co-Chair
Professor of Cell Biology
tim.levine@ucl.ac.uk

Wing-Chau Tung

Co-Chair
Institute Manager
w.tung@ucl.ac.uk

Alessandro Capriglione 

Administrative Assistant
a.capriglione@ucl.ac.uk

Andrew Dick

Institute Director
a.dick@ucl.ac.uk

Avili Feese

Athena Swan Project Manager
ioo.equality@ucl.ac.uk

Christin Henein

Clinical Academic Lecturer
c.henein@ucl.ac.uk

Diana Sefic-Svara 

Imagining Technician 
diana.sefic-svara@ucl.ac.uk

Dolores Conroy 

Research Project Manager-ORNATE-India Study
d.conroy@ucl.ac.uk

Gopi Damodaran 

Laboratory Manager
g.damodaran@ucl.ac.uk

Helen Baker 

Public and Patient Involvement and Engagement Manager, NIHR Moorfields BRC
h.baker@ucl.ac.uk

Hugo Chow-Wing-Bom 

PhD Student
hugo.chow-wing-bom@ucl.ac.uk

James Curwen 

Senior Communications Officer, NIHR Moorfields BRC and INSIGHT
j.curwen@ucl.ac.uk

Jennifer Sun 

Lecturer
jennifer.sun@ucl.ac.uk

Joanne English 

Finance and Research Administrator
j.english@ucl.ac.uk

Marinko Sarunic 

Moorfields Eye Charity Chair in Advanced Ocular Imaging
m.sarunic@ucl.ac.uk

Salma Mohamed Darwish 

PhD Student
salma.darwish.21@ucl.ac.uk

Sanam Javed

Senior Teaching and Learning Administrator 
s.javed@ucl.ac.uk

Previous members
  • Abi Li
  • Alex Boss
  • Anastasia Lampropoulou
  • Angshumonik Angbohang
  • Annegret Dahlmann-Noor
  • Barbara Vacca
  • Blessing Adedoyin
  • Bridget-Ann Kenny
  • Caroline Copeland
  • Chris Dainty
  • Clare Futter
  • Cynthia Wilson
  • Dave Shima
  • Elena Sanchez-Heras
  • Eli Jones
  • Elisabeth Kugler
  • Erika Aquino
  • Finn Coughlan
  • Francesca Mackenzie
  • Jack Blackburn
  • Jill Cowing
  • Joe Smith
  • Karen Bonstein
  • Karen Eastlake
  • Kristina Labanauskaite
  • Louise Wong
  • Mahtab Farahbakhsh
  • Marcus Pedersen
  • Maria Balda
  • Marko Nardini
  • Maryse Bailly
  • Matteo Rizzi
  • Nick Burt
  • Nick Owen
  • Pearse Keane
  • Rachael Pearson
  • Rachel Wang
  • Radhika Shah
  • Richard Cable
  • Rose Richardson
  • Sander Smith
  • Sandra Halim
  • Su Jayakody
  • Sudershana Dave
  • Tina Storm
  • Viesturs Eglitis
  • Viv Lee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    Minutes of Equality Challenge Team meetings

    Package icon 2021.zip

    Package icon 2020.zip

    Package icon 2019.zip

    Package icon 2018.zip

    Package icon 2017.zip

     

    Athena SWAN logo

    Athena SWAN

    Equality Challenge upholds the 10 key principles of gender equality, as created by the Athena SWAN Charter.                       

    blurred lights

    EDI in Action

    Find out what we do to advance EDI at the Institute.