IOE - Faculty of Education and Society


IOE academics elected as newest Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences

2 March 2023

Professors Toby Seddon and Bernardette Holmes have been recognised for their excellence in the social sciences in the Academy of Social Sciences' (AcSS) spring 2023 Fellowships.

Portraits of Professors Toby Seddon and Bernardette Holmes

Toby Seddon is Professor of Social Science at IOE, UCL’s Faculty of Education and Society. He is Head of the faculty’s UCL Social Research Institute. Professor Seddon’s academic work centres on historical and inter-disciplinary social science research on drug policy and drug law reform. 

Bernardette Holmes MBE, who was conferred Honorary Professor at IOE in February 2023, has made major contributions to languages education in England through her work as a modern languages advocate, teacher, adviser, inspector, teacher trainer, researcher, curriculum and policy developer and author.  

She is an alumna of UCL (French with Classical and Medieval Latin) and IOE (PGCE in French and German with subsidiary studies in Sociology and Performing Arts), then known as the Institute of Education, University of London. She is Vice President of the Chartered Institute of Linguistics, Director of Speak to the Future, and consultant to the DfE for the development of the GCSE in British Sign Language. 

Will Hutton, President of the AcSS, said: “The Academy of Social Sciences is delighted to welcome an excellent range of highly distinguished social scientists from Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, England, and beyond. As the work of social science becomes ever more important, we look forward to engaging with them in 2023.” 

Other IOE academics who have been conferred as AcSS Fellows in recent years include Professors Qing Gu, Alex Bryson, Alison Fuller, Eirini Flouri, Simon Marginson, and IOE Pro-Director and Vice-Dean Research and Development Professor Lynn Ang.