Institute of Communications and Connected Systems


Professor Alwyn Seeds receives the IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award

20 July 2023

Congratulations to Professor Alwyn Seeds, ICCS researcher and Professor of Opto-electronics in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, who has been announced as the recipient of the IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award.

Alwyn Seeds resized image for news item

Professor Alwyn Seeds, Professor of Opto-electronics and an ICCS researcher at UCL, has received the prestigious IEEE Photonics Society Engineering Achievement Award in recognition of his significant contribution to the advancement of the engineering field.

The award recognises an exceptional engineering contribution which has had a significant impact on the development of laser or electro-optic technology or the commercial application of technology within the past ten years.

Professor Seeds’ achivements lie in pioneering developments in microwave photonic devices and systems and the successful commercialisation of wireless-over-fiber for 5G+ cellular communication, which are highly regarded in the field.

Professor Seeds leads the Photonics Group at UCL EEE, and is the Principal Investigator for the Centre for Doctoral Training in Connected Electronic and Photonic Systems, and the EPSRC programme grant QUDOS.  He is also the Director of the EPSRC National Dark Fibre Facility. He has published more than 500 research papers on microwave and opto-electronic devices and their systems applications, of which around 100 of them have been invited papers.

Professor Seeds is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (UK), an IEEE Life Fellow (USA) and has served as Vice-President for Technical Affairs of the IEEE Photonics Society (USA). He also co-founded Zinwave Inc., a manufacturer of wireless over fibre systems, now a unit of Wilson Electronics LLC. There are now over 850 Zinwave systems installed in 26 countries worldwide. He was also awarded the Gabor Medal and Prize of the Institute of Physics in 2012 and the Distinguished Educator Award of the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society in 2018.