Institute of Brand and Innovation Law


IBIL celebrates our students’ IP success

12 March 2024

UCL Institute of Brand and Innovation Law celebrates students’ academic excellence in IP law at UCL Law Prizewinners’ Ceremony.


On 11 March, students, family members, sponsors and staff from across the Faculty gathered for one of the largest events in the UCL Laws' Calendar - the annual UCL Laws Prizewinners Ceremony.

This celebration of the achievements of UCL Laws’ outstanding students was hosted by the Dean of Faculty of Laws, Professor Eloise Scotford. Students were presented with awards as a recognition of academic excellence, covering a variety of legal fields including intellectual property law. Following the ceremony, the guests attended a drinks reception to celebrate the successes with friends and family, as well as the prize sponsors.

IBIL wishes to extend many congratulations to the following students for their achievements in respect of intellectual property law:

  • Daniel Amery - Awarded: Mishcon de Reya Prize for Top Performance in LLB Intellectual Property Law
  • Dheemanth Vangimalla - Awarded: IBIL Prize for Top Performance in an Intellectual Property LLM Research Essay and 8 New Square Prize for the Top Performance in the LLM Patent Law Module
  • Salma El Aiba - Awarded: IBIL LLM Prize for Top Performance in LLM Trade Mark Law Module
  • Eve Jennifer Simpson (not in attendance) and Ilinca Maria Manda - Awarded: IBIL Prize for Top Performance in LLM Copyright Law Module

The Rt. Hon. Sir Christopher Floyd, former Lord Justice of Appeal and Honorary Professor at UCL Laws awarded the IBIL prizes and the named 8 New Square Chambers and Mishcon de Reya LLP prizes were awarded by Daniel Alexander K.C. and Nina O'Sullivan, respectively. All of the intellectual property law prizes were made possible through the generous support of our Sponsors.