Centre for Ethics and Law



The UCL Centre of Ethics and Law is operated under the leadership of the Director of the Centre, Professor Iris Chiu, and the Deputy Director, Dr Alan Brener

Academic Staff

Our academic members are those that have most consistently channelled their research through the Centre. The Centre supports many other Faculty academic members on an ad hoc basis. We maintain close links with the Centre for Criminal Law and Centre for Commercial Law.

The following colleagues have worked with the Centre's events and stakeholder engagement and continue to be associated with us:

Advisory Panel

The Director is assisted by an Advisory Panel, which meets once a year.

The Advisory Board is composed of:

  • Chair and Deputy Chair of the Centre
  • Academic members of staff, see above
  • Roger Barker, Institute of Directors
  • David Barr, Co-founder, CampbellBarr
  • Patrick Bourke, Norton Rose Fulbright LLP
  • Dr Francisco de la Peña Fernández-Garnelo, Senior Teaching Fellow, UCL Faculty of Laws
  • Sam Eastwood, Partner, Mayer Brown
  • Hans-Christoph Hirt, Managing Director, Head of Impact Engagement, UBS Asset Management
  • John Mair, Director, Head of Project Integrity, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)
  • Professor Stephen Mayson, Honorary Professor of Law in the Faculty of Laws
  • Professor Richard Moorhead, University of Exeter and Honorary Professor of Law, UCL
  • Maddalena Neglia, FIDH
  • Dr Ian Peters MBE, Director, Institute of Business Ethics (IBE)
  • Dr Raphael Reims, Manager Compliance Investigations, BMW Group
  • Mark Serföző, Interim General Counsel, Ricardo
  • Joanna Talbot, Chief Counsel, Compliance and Regulation, BAE Systems plc
  • Anna Triponel, Founder, Human Level