Brain Sciences


Early career 2020-21 staff promotions

14 July 2021

Congratulations to the 16 early career staff from across the Faculty of Brain Sciences who have been awarded a promotion in this year's promotion round.


Each year, UCL recognises and rewards the outstanding achievements of academics across the university. This year the Faculty gained 15 Senior Research Fellows and one Research Fellow.

Promotions are effective from 1 October 2021.

Professor Alan Thompson, Dean of the Faculty of Brain Sciences, said: “A huge congratulations to all of our colleagues who have been promoted this year. These highly deserved promotions reflect the excellence of their work across research, education and enterprise and their major contribution to brain sciences, reinforcing the incredible academic strength of our Faculty. I am thrilled to congratulate the following academics for their well-deserved success.” 

Senior Research Fellows

Name Department
Lucie CharlesDivision of Psychology and Language Sciences
Aleksandra HerbecDivision of Psychology and Language Sciences
Lauren ByrneQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Nadine DijkstraQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Yael HacohenQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Miha ModicQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Tim TierneyQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Elliott WimmerQueen Square Institute of Neurology
Andrew PetersInstitute of Ophthalmology
Nikolas PontikosInstitute of Ophthalmology
Luigi Federico RossiInstitute of Ophthalmology
Henry LlewellynDivision of Psychiatry
Kate MerrittDivision of Psychiatry
Ellie PearceDivision of Psychiatry
Emily WestDivision of Psychiatry

Research Fellow

Name Department 
Phoebe BarnettDivision of Psychology and Language Sciences