Brain Sciences


Our place in UCL

UCL is made up of four Schools. Each School is then split into Faculties which are further divided into Institutes and Divisions (or departments).

UCL Faculty of Brain Sciences is part of the School of Life and Medical Sciences (SLMS), the largest of UCL’s Schools, which is a major biomedical research centre and a leader in medical and health research (ranked number 1 in the UK for medical research by REF 2014).

The Faculty is made up of seven Institutes and Divisions. They are centres of excellence for psychology, language, cognition, neurology and neuroscience, ophthalmology and vision research, prion diseases, psychiatry, and deafness and hearing, and have a special focus on dementia and mental health. Many of our departments are partnered, both physically and strategically, with world-famous hospitals and research centres in central London; they form a considerable part of UCL Partners (UCL-P), the largest academic health science partnership in the world.

Welcome to UCL