XClose

Bartlett School of Environment, Energy and Resources

Home
Menu

People

Our management and professional service team enable world-leading research with innovative and novel methodologies, and the education of the sustainability leaders of tomorrow.

Our School is held by a central leadership and administrative team, working across the work of our four Institutes. 

Key to our organisation are institutional citizenship roles, taken on by staff from across the School in addition to their primary research, teaching or administrative activity. These roles are help us to the effectively enhance the School's administration and governance, whilst promoting a positive, collegial atmosphere across the School. These roles includes Directors of our core functions (Education, research and so on), Inclusion Leads and Green Champions.

Whilst the central structure holds our core functions, at the heart of all our activity are the excellent research and teaching staff working within the institutes of their expertise. They consistently push the boundaries of teaching and research in energy, resources, heritage and environmental design and engineering.

Find our research and academic staff on the Institute websites:

See our central teams for:

Leadership | Education | Research | Partnerships | Communications and Marketing | Operations | Equality, Diversity and Inclusion | Green Impact


      Leadership

      Our School Directors, School Manager and four Institute Directors provide strategic leadership across our School. Whilst the Director's oversee the research and academic activity of their respective institutes, the School Manager leads our professional team who support all areas of the School's administration.

      Headshot of Professor Raimund Bleischwitz
      School Director

      Prof. Raimund Bleischwitz
      Executive Assistant - Gael Anderson
      bseer-director.ea@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Philppa Shallard
      School Manager

      Philppa Shallard
      p.shallard@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of May Cassar
      UCL Institute for Sustainable Heritage Director

      Prof. May Cassar
      Deputy - Prof. Adam Gibson
      Personal Assistant - Cathy Bridge
      ish-pa@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Neil Strachan
      UCL Energy Institute Director

      Prof. Neil Strachan
      Deputy - Prof. Paul Ruyssevelt
      Personal Assitant - Cathy Bridge
      energy-pa@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Dejan Mumovic
      UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering Director

      Prof Dejan Mumovic
      Deputy - Prof. Mike Davies
      Personal Assistant - Anne Skinner
      iede-pa@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Paul Ekins
      UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources Director

      Prof. Paul Ekins
      Deputy - Prof. Michael Grubb
      Personal Assistant - Anne Skinner
      isr-pa@ucl.ac.uk


      Education

      Our School's teaching and learning is overseen by the Education Director and Teaching Manager. Along with our academic programme leads, department graduate tutors and professional team, they operate our undergraduate, Master's and PhD programmes.

      Headshot of Marcella Ucci
      Director of Education

      Dr Marcella Ucci
      m.ucci@ucl.ac.uk

      Person Icon
      Teaching Manager

      Robert Heller
      robert.heller@ucl.ac.uk

      Master's Graduate Tutors

      Dr Lorenzo Lotti
      Departmental Tutor for UCL Institute for Sustainable Heritage and UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering
      l.lotti@ucl.ac.uk

      Dr Hector Altamirano
      Departmental Tutor for UCL Energy Institute and UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources
      h.altamirano-medina@ucl.ac.uk 

      PhD Graduate Tutors

      Professor Paul Dodds
      Institute for Sustainable Resources - Graduate Tutor
      p.dodds@ucl.ac.uk

      Dr Nici Zimmermann
      Environmental Design & Engineering - Departmental Graduate Tutor
      n.zimmermann@ucl.ac.uk

      Dr Ian Hamilton
      Energy - Departmental Graduate Tutor
      i.hamilton@ucl.ac.uk

      Dr Josep Grau-Bove
      Sustainable Heritage - Departmental Graduate Tutor 
      josep.grau.bove@ucl.ac.uk

      Teaching professional support team

      Master's support

      Reem El-Sharouni / Rakhee Ryatt (job share)
      Senior Teaching Administrator
      bseer.teaching.admin@ucl.ac.uk

      Dele Anthony
      Programmes Administrator
      d.anthony@ucl.ac.uk

      Tinisha Stewart
      Programmes Administrator
      tinisha.stewart@ucl.ac.uk

      Pui Shi Tsang
      Programmes Administrator    
      pui.tsang@ucl.ac.uk

      Joanna Payne
      Programmes Administrator    
      joanna.payne@ucl.ac.uk

      Andrea Henny
      Programmes Administrator
      a.henny@ucl.ac.uk

      PhD support

      Teresa Dawkins
      Postgraduate Research Administrator
      t.dawkins@ucl.ac.uk

      Andrea Henny
      Programmes Administrator
      a.henny@ucl.ac.uk

      Centres for Doctoral Training support

      Mae Oroszlany
      Centre Manager, Energy Resilience in the Built Environment Centre for Doctoral Training (ERBE CDT)
      e.oroszlany@ucl.ac.uk

      Robyn Parker
      Centre Manager, EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Science and Engineering in Arts, Heritage & Archaeology (SEAHA)
      seaha-manager@ucl.ac.uk

      If you have any questions about studying with us please contact bseer-studentqueries@ucl.ac.uk for Master's enquiries and bseer-phd-admin@ucl.ac.uk for PhD enquiries 

      Research

      Headshot of Andreas Schafer
      Director of Research

      Prof Andreas Schafer
      a.schafer@ucl.ac.uk

      Person Icon
      Research Manager

      Haiyan Wu

      Research professional support team

      Pre- and Post- award support
      Verity Whiter
      Senior Research Administrator 
      v.whiter@ucl.ac.uk

      Janette Burklund
      Research Administrator
      j.burklund@ucl.ac.uk 

      Emily Jennings
      Research Administrator
      emily.jennings@ucl.ac.uk

      Mark Ghosh
      Research Administrator
      m.ghosh@ucl.ac.uk

      Research Centres, Labs and Networks support
      James O'Toole
      Consortium Manager, EPSRC Smart Meter Research Portal Centre (SMRP)
      j.otoole@ucl.ac.uk

      Jana Sabinovska
      The Wellcome Trust Centre for Complex Urban Systems for Sustainability and Health (CUSSH) Centre Manager
      j.sabinovska@ucl.ac.uk

      Georgia Kouta
      MaaSLab Research and Enterprise/Business Development Manager
      g.kouta@ucl.ac.uk

      Alexis Fidgett
      Network Administrator of EPSRC Network Plus on Decarbonising the UK’s Freight 
      a.fidgett@ucl.ac.uk

      If you have any questions on our reasearch please contact bseer-research-admin@ucl.ac.uk  

      Ethics

      Person Icon
      Director of Ethics
      Michelle Shipworth
      m.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

      Partnerships

      Headshot of David Shipworth
      Director of Partnerships

      Prof David Shipworth
      d.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Elinor Kruse
      Partnerships Manager

      Elinor Kruse (on maternity leave)

      Person Icon

      Consultancy Manager (UCL-C)

      Carlos Huggins
      c.huggins@uclconsultants.com

      If you have any questions on partnerships or consultancy please contact bseer-partnerships@ucl.ac.uk


      Communications and Marketing

      Our communications and marketing team oversee all websites, news, events and programme marketing for the School.

      Headshot of Maija Powell
      Communications and Marketing Manager

      Maija Powell
      maija.powell@ucl.ac.uk

      Communications and Marketing professional support team

      Harry Barton/Ella Strickland De Souza
      Communications Marketing and Events Administrator (IEDE and ISR)
      iede-isr-comms@ucl.ac.uk

      Velvet Young
      Communications Marketing and Events Administrator (Energy and ISH)
      velvet.young.13@ucl.ac.uk

      If you have any communications and marketing queries please contact bseer-communications@ucl.ac.uk 


      Operations

      Our operations team manages the human resourcing, finances and administration for the School.

      Person Icon
      Operation Manager

      Liz Milner
      elizabeth.milner@ucl.ac.uk

      Operations professional support team

      Executive and Personal Assistance

      Gael Anderson
      Executive Assistant to the Director of School and Operations Officer
      g.anderson@ucl.ac.uk 

      Catherine Bridge
      PA & Administrator (Energy and ISH)
      c.bridge@ucl.ac.uk 

      Anne Skinner
      PA & Administrator (IEDE and ISR)

      Staffing support

      Rosanna Seels
      Staffing Administrator
      r.seels@ucl.ac.uk

      Magdalena Valencia
      Staffing Administrator
      magdalena.valencia@ucl.ac.uk

      Finance

      Vig Seewoogoolam
      Senior Finance Officer
      v.seewoogoolam@ucl.ac.uk

      If you have any queries on recruitment please contact bseer-recruitment@ucl.ac.uk 


      Equality Diversity and Inclusion

      Inclusion leads are first point of contact for individual equality, diversity and inclusion issues within your department. They work with the Directors to implement good practice on equality diversity and inclusion within the department. Our inclusion leads have taken this role in addition to their usual research, teaching and professional roles. 

      Headshot of Catalina Spataru
      Inclusion Lead

      Prof. Catalina Spataru
      c.spataru@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Nick Hughes
      Deputy Inclusion Lead

      Dr Nick Hughes
      nicholas.hughes@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Maija Powell
      Deputy Inclusion Lead

      Maija Powell
      maija.powell@ucl.ac.uk

      Please contact any of the Inclusion Leads directly if you have a query on Equality, Diversity and Inslucion in the School, please visit our Equality, Diversity and Inclusion page to find out more. 


      Green Impact

      Our Green Champions have taken on these institutional citizenship roles to work closely with Sustainable UCL and maximise our School's green impact and sustainability credentials.

      Headshot of Emily Jennings
      Green Champion
      Emily Jennings
      emily.jennings@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Velvet Young
      Green Champion
      Velvet Young
      velvet.young.13@ucl.ac.uk

      Headshot of Jo Payne
      Green Champion
      Joanna Payne
      Joanna.payne@ucl.ac.uk  

      Find out more about Green Impact in our School on our Sustainability page.