UCL Astrophysics Group


Prof. Hiranya Peiris appointed to Science and Technology Facilities Council

6 February 2020

As part of UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) three additional members, including Prof. Hiranya Peiris, have been appointed to the Council of Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)

Professor Hiranya Peiris

STFC Executive Chair Professor Mark Thomson said “I am very pleased to welcome Professor Aderin-Pocock, Professor Peiris and Ben Oliver as new members of STFC Council. The scientific, industrial and academic expertise of our new Council members will be a valuable addition to Council’s deliberations and enable STFC to continue to deliver and support world class research, innovation and skills”.

The members announced today reflect the diversity of communities they represent including higher education, industry, policy and civil society.

Read the full announcement here.