Institute of Archaeology


Institute hosts Association of Critical Heritage Studies 2020 Conference

25 August 2020

The UCL Institute of Archaeology will host over a thousand international (virtual) delegates for the Association of Critical Heritage Studies (ACHS) 2020 Biennial Conference on “Futures” this week.

ACHS 2020 conference logo

The AHRC Heritage Priority Area at the UCL Institute of Archaeology will host the Association of Critical Heritage Studies Biennial International Conference this week, from the 26-30 August.

Originally planned as a face-to-face event, the conference will now be run as a virtual event and will see around 1,100 international delegates participate in the conference over five days. Over 700 on-demand conference presentations have been made available for viewing prior to the conference, which will host a number of plenary events, almost 200 live Q&A discussions, and a series of additional workshops and fringe activities.   

Plenary events include an opening plenary panel discussion on Archives, Heritage, Museums and Black Lives Matter featuring Benjamina Dadzie (Museum Detox), Subhadra Das (University College London), Aleema Gray (Museum of London), Keith Magee (Social Justice Institute; Founding Director of the US National Public Housing Museum; University College London; Newcastle University) and Wayne Modest (National Museum of World Culture; Vrije Universiteit (VU), Amsterdam).

Keynote presentations will be delivered by Karen Salt (UKRI/Former Director of the Centre for Research in Race and Rights at the University of Nottingham), Sharon Macdonald (Humboldt University, Germany), Dolly Jorgenson (University of Stavanger, Norway) and Kavita Singh (Jawaharlal Nehru University, India) while the Association of Critical Heritage Studies General Meeting of Members will also be held.

Rodney Harrison, Professor of Heritage Studies at the Institute of Archaeology and ACHS 2020 Conference Chair, was involved in establishing the Association of Critical Heritage Studies and served as its Vice Chair/Vice President for a number of years following its first biennial conference in 2012.

Local Organising Committee Members include a number of current and former Institute staff and honoraries including Nadia Bartolini, Chiara Bonacchi, Esther Breithoff, Jonathon Gardner, Hana Morel, Tina Paphitis, and Colin Sterling, and many Institute staff and students will be presenting their research at the conference. The Institute of Archaeology's joint UCL/University of Gothenburg Centre for Critical Heritage Studies will also host a live discussion at the event.