Awards and Recognition of Best Practice

The Quality Assurance Unit manages three schemes, which aim to spotlight and support excellence and/or commission improvements in the delivery of undergraduate medical education.

Excellence in Medical Education Awards (EMEA)

Improving the quality of medical education for UCL students and ensuring that high standards within teaching and learning processes are recognised and rewarded is a core part of the role of the QAU. 

If you are involved in undergraduate medical education and are committed to teaching and learning, then why not apply for an EMEA?

More about EMEAs:

  • Winners receive a cash prize and a certificate.
  • The awards are presented by the Vice Provost (Health) and Head of the Medical School at the graduation ceremony.
  • Applications are welcome from anyone involved in the provision of education to medical students (academics or administrative staff).
  • All applicants must complete an application form and provide a supporting statement from a referee.
  • Reviewing and shortlisting applications is undertaken by an EMEA Shortlisting Panel representing the Medical School Quality Management and Enhancement Committee (mQMEC). Membership of the Panel includes: previous winners; student, DGH and faculty representatives; and the Academic Lead for Quality.

Top Teachers Awards/Top Administrators

Throughout each academic year, students are given the opportunity, via the SEQs, to nominate teachers who have been particularly helpful or inspiring to them during their studies. In addition, they are able to nominate administrators whom they have found to be particularly helpful and supportive. At the end of the year, the QAU counts the number of nominations for each teacher/administrator and the ones with the most nominations receive an award.

Junior Doctors' Certificate of Merit

The Certificate of Merit has been developed to acknowledge and reward junior doctors, who are involved in teaching on UCLMS' MBBS programme.

Page last modified on 15 jun 17 11:16