XClose

Chamber Music

Home
Menu

Concert Diary

The concert venue, unless otherwise indicated, is the Haldane Room, North Cloisters, on the ground floor of the Wilkins Building.  The exception this year is our Christmas concert, which is taking place in the Wilkins Garden Room.

Concerts usually start at 5.30pm and generally last one hour; lunchtime concerts usually run from 1.10-1.55pm.

Admission is free and open to all.

Autumn Term 2017

Monday 9th October, 5.30pm

The opening concert of the 66th season will present varied repertoire, including Jacques Ibert’s Jeux for flute and piano.

Monday 16th October, 7pm (joint concert with OCMC)

Presented jointly by the UCL Chamber Music Club and the Oxford and Cambridge Musical Club, this wide-ranging concert will include songs by Henry Purcell, accompanied by baroque ’cello and harpsichord, and Carl Vine’s Five Bagatelles for piano. Refreshments will be served.

Tuesday 24th October, 5.30pm

A concert of ‘Op.1’ pieces focusing on the first or early works of various composers.

Wednesday 15th November, 5.30pm

‘Landscape & Music: Swedish Song in focus’. This concert is part of a project sponsored by the Swedish Women’s Educational Association to explore the roles of landscape in Swedish song settings, particularly from the ‘Golden Age’ of song in Scandinavia. For context, the programme will also include music which connects with landscape from other traditions.

Monday 20th November, 1.10pm

Performers at this lunchtime concert will include guests from the UCLU Music Society.

Saturday 25 November, 5pm

Thursday 7 December, 6pm

CMC Christmas concert in the Wilkins Garden Room

Spring Term 2018

Tuesday 16 January 2018, 5.30pm

Programme to be confirmed.

Friday 26 January, 1.10pm (lunchtime)

Featuring Russian modernist music around 1917.

Thursday 1 February, 1.10pm (lunchtime)

New Members concert.

Friday 9 February, 1.10pm (lunchtime)

Anniversary of Michael Tippett, celebrated with his piano sonatas and possibly by works of his contemporaries and other British composers.

Monday 19 February, 5.30pm

A celebration of Debussy's anniversary that will include his violin sonata.

Friday 2 March, 1.10pm (lunchtime)

A concert involving UCLU Music Society performers; the main piece will be Appalachian Spring by Aaron Copland.

Tuesday 13 March, 5.30pm

A concert of ensemble music.

Summer Term 2018

  • Tuesday 1 May, 5.30pm
  • Friday 18 May, 1.10pm (lunchtime)
  • Wednesday 30 May, 5.30pm

2018 Masterclasses

  • These will take place on Saturday 24 February, further details to follow