Degree types

Our graduate taught degree programmes are designed to meet a range of needs. Many of them offer flexible learning options to allow you to combine your study with professional or personal commitments.

Find the perfect programme

Our graduate taught degree programmes can provide a foundation for research or a route to career advancement. Taught programmes normally begin at the start of the academic year in September.

UCL offers the following programmes:

Master’s programmes

Master’s programmes usually extend over 12 months full-time or two years part-time; an increasing number are offered on a flexible learning basis over three to five years.

These include Master of:

  • Architecture (MArch)
  • Arts (MA)
  • Business Administration (MBA)
  • Clinical Dentistry (MClinDent)
  • Fine Art (MFA)
  • Landscape Architecture (MLA)
  • Laws (LLM)
  • Planning (MPlan)
  • Public Administration (MPA)
  • Science (MSc)
  • Surgery (MS)
  • Teaching (MTeach)
  • Executive Master of Public Administration (EMPA)

Many programmes offered by the IOE, UCL's Faculty of Education and Society, also combine face-to-face sessions with online learning.

Master of Research (MRes)

The MRes programme normally extends over 12 months full-time, though some may be offered part-time. The degree includes taught elements, a significant research component, and training in research techniques to form the basis for doctoral study or a research career.

Postgraduate Diploma (PG Dip)

These programmes usually share an identical syllabus with the taught component of a corresponding Master’s programme and extend over nine months full-time or two years part-time, or longer if flexible study is offered.

Postgraduate Certificate (PG Cert)

These programmes offer a certificated qualification attained over a shorter period of study – usually 15 weeks full-time or over one to two years if taken flexibly. They usually consist of selected components of a corresponding Master’s or Postgraduate Diploma programme.

Postgraduate Certificate of Education (PGCE)

These programmes offer a Master's level degree. Candidates usually spend three months studying at the IOE, UCL's Faculty of Education and Society, before doing two placements at partner schools. Students graduate with Qualified Teacher Status (QTS), enabling them to teach in maintained schools in England and Wales. 

Graduate Certificates and Diplomas (Grad Cert/Grad Dip)

For details (including entry requirements) of free-standing Graduate Diplomas in Archaeology, Civil Engineering or Education, please contact the relevant department.