Department of Political Science


Professor Lauge Poulsen is among UCL staff and alumni recognised in 2022 New Year’s Honours

5 January 2022

Congratulations to our colleague Professor Lauge Poulsen and all members of the UCL community who have been recognised in the 2022 New Year’s Honours.


Professor Lauge Poulsen (UCL Political Science) was made an Officer of the Order of British Empire (OBE) for services to UK trade policy. Following the Brexit vote, he led a programme to train civil servants in trade policy – one of the largest training programmes in the history of the civil service.

Lauge is Professor and Deputy Head of Department at the Department of Political Science. Before joining UCL, Poulsen was a postdoctoral fellow at Nuffield College, University of Oxford, and he has been a visiting scholar at the Brookings Institution, London School of Economics' Department of Law, and Melbourne Law School. He serves as Specialist Adviser to the House of Commons' International Trade Committee, is lead on Whitehall's Advanced Trade Policy training programme, and is chair of OECD’s Future of Investment Treaties work programme. From 2017 to 2020, he was Academic Adviser on trade policy to the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office. ​

Professor Poulsen said:

I’m honoured to have received this award. It’s been a privilege to help the Foreign Office build what may be the world’s largest trade policy training programme.

Read the full article


  • Clockwise from top left: Professor John Hardy, Professor Russell Viner, Lord Kakkar, Professor Kevin Fenton, Professor Alan Cottenden, Professor Lauge Poulsen, Professor Hugh Montgomery, Leora Cruddas. Courtesy of those pictured. Lord Kakkar image credit: Roger Harris. CC BY 3.0